Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

August 1, 2013

Aug. 4, 2013: Letters to the editor

Area’s early barns are disappearing

The large, picturesque barn on the Legg family farm, 1 mile north of Windfall, at what used to be known as Byron Legg Corner, is no more.

A landmark structure since 1903, the building was dismantled last spring, and this year all that remains are the stones of its basement foundation. It was taken down by barn expert Ed Walker of Frankton. And the tools he used to get it down? A 7-foot stepladder, a hammer, saw, crowbar and his truck!

Built by farmer and auctioneer W.C. Legg, the bank barn was a horse barn until 1929, when Byron Legg began a dairy operation there known as Hill-Crest Farm Dairy. At that time the silo that still stands was constructed behind the barn, and ventilators were placed on top of the roof to extend down into the basement and provide more air movement for the dairy herd. The cows were milked three times a day, but the dairy ceased operations with the death of Byron Legg in 1947.

In 1936 a farm seeds operation was established using the barn, and today the seed business continues as Legg Seeds in a modern facility on the other side of the farmhouse.

The barn measured 42 feet by 70 feet and was upwards of 50-feet high, the tallest barn Ed Walker has yet taken down. It took him six weeks starting in mid-April of last year to get the structure down to the stone foundation. He saved many of the sawn oak, elm and poplar beams. All of the wood used in the barn was obtained from standing timber on the farm. The slate roof was saved, as were many of the 58 windows positioned throughout the barn.

A hay track powered by an electric motor was salvaged, sans the motor. Lightning rods were kept, but metal stanchions in the basement and an early manure handling device consisting of metal buckets pushed along a track were not. Rocks that were heated and split to shape and used to build the basement walls will be sold to a Hamilton County landscaper. Some of the barn beams will go out to Kansas with a family relative to be made into guitars.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll