Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 15, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Aug. 15, 2013

Will wind farms really save our schools?A conversation between old friends took place a few days ago and went like this:What do you think about the wind turbine issue? The gentleman began with the school issue. The economic pressure is inevitable on a rural school system no matter how “good” it is. Declining enrollment is a troubling sign and debt is the usual result. The school revenue comes from local property tax revenue and the state of Indiana. The new voucher system for state money is then “enrollment” money. Enrollment numbers mean survival or not.The question becomes will the wind farms save a rural school system? An infusion of cash would help any money problem. However, lower property values means less revenue, and less development results in more economic pressure on the school system.Another issue is of the $1,000,000 property guarantee fund and how is it determined.Would it be 100 properties x $10,000, 50 properties x $20,000, or 20 properties x $50,000? A million dollars for two townships, why would you even consider this?He finished by saying some will benefit, but many will not. Why as a property owner should you have to sell out to receive obvious damages that you have already incurred?The gentleman was finally asked if he thought that our county would ever heal from this calamity, and he slowly responded with a sad whisper “not in our life time old friend — not in our life time.”

Pro-pot voices being silencedThe Marijuana Policy Project, an organization that fights to reform and repeal our nation’s absurd marijuana laws, had an ad canceled at last month’s Brickyard 400 race in Indianapolis. It was to have been on a Jumbotron as fans entered the stadium. The ad talked about how marijuana is safer then alcohol, which it clearly is in fact. But, the MPP and no marijuana legalization activists that I know of (I included) want to outlaw alcohol. In fact, the history of Prohibition is one of the reasons that we oppose keeping marijuana illegal — because it has caused so much violence, as does marijuana prohibition now.If not for Prohibition, then the name Al Capone would be meaningless today, instead of infamous. Indeed, it was bootleggers who basically started up race car driving in the United States. Maybe some good came out of Prohibition. How can we have a debate on the issue of marijuana legalization, if the pro-legalization side is silenced by outside pressure groups when it tries to make its’ voice heard? We continue to fund a war that is becoming grossly unpopular with the American people, as it well deserves to be. So if you are a foreign drug cartel member, you surely want to keep this war going, but for everyone else, let’s end it now. By the way, when are we going to have, at the very least, medical marijuana in the state of Indiana? Is it too much to ask that our government stop lying to us about its benefits?Shaun SlackKokomo

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll