Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 7, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 7, 2012

We need legislation on when life begins

So now Kate, the Duchess of Cambridge, is officially pregnant. I’m happy for her and her family.

But why is it that in news reports of her condition, she’s “having a baby” who someday perhaps will be the reigning monarch of the United Kingdom, and at the same time a poor girl in the streets who is told she’s got a problem with a “blob of tissue” can abort the problem and no one ever mentions the word “baby”?

It can’t be both a baby, who is a living human being, and an inanimate blob of tissue that is problematic and must be expelled from the body like a bad meal.

This is why we need a definitive statement on when human life begins!

Gayle Schnepp, Kokomo

 

State chief recognizes insanity of pot laws

Indiana State Police Superintendent Paul Whitesell has come out in support of the legalization, regulation and taxing of marijuana. He is exactly right.

With his 40-plus years in law enforcement, Superintendent Whitesell has seen the horrible effects of our nation’s and state’s war on marijuana. He has seen young lives destroyed by teenagers caught with a small amount of the drug. He has seen innocent people killed in the dark of night by SWAT teams that break down wrong doors, in order to enforce the war on marijuana and greater war on drugs. He has seen people have their property and money taken (even if not charged with any crimes) by the government under civil asset forfeiture.

Just the mere suspicion of a connection between your hard-earned property and illegal drugs is enough for this to happen. In fact, in Massachusetts, a motel owner might lose his motel to the government because of asset forfeiture for an average of one drug arrest per year at his motel in contrast to 14,000 yearly room rentals.

Our state police chief is not the only police officer who supports legalization: Law Enforcement Against Prohibition is an organization of former and current officers who support legalization.

Finally, the Indiana chapter of the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws is working to end this insanity, and it could use your support.

Jerome McCollom, Kokomo

 

President Obama is‘definitely’ arrogant

Do we ever agree with Kent Blacklidge! If we eliminated all the czars and traveling money available to the president, it would go a long way toward balancing the budget.

He definitely IS arrogant, and I don’t see why 51 percent don’t see it.

Pat Duchane, Kokomo

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll