Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 7, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 7, 2012

We need legislation on when life begins

So now Kate, the Duchess of Cambridge, is officially pregnant. I’m happy for her and her family.

But why is it that in news reports of her condition, she’s “having a baby” who someday perhaps will be the reigning monarch of the United Kingdom, and at the same time a poor girl in the streets who is told she’s got a problem with a “blob of tissue” can abort the problem and no one ever mentions the word “baby”?

It can’t be both a baby, who is a living human being, and an inanimate blob of tissue that is problematic and must be expelled from the body like a bad meal.

This is why we need a definitive statement on when human life begins!

Gayle Schnepp, Kokomo

 

State chief recognizes insanity of pot laws

Indiana State Police Superintendent Paul Whitesell has come out in support of the legalization, regulation and taxing of marijuana. He is exactly right.

With his 40-plus years in law enforcement, Superintendent Whitesell has seen the horrible effects of our nation’s and state’s war on marijuana. He has seen young lives destroyed by teenagers caught with a small amount of the drug. He has seen innocent people killed in the dark of night by SWAT teams that break down wrong doors, in order to enforce the war on marijuana and greater war on drugs. He has seen people have their property and money taken (even if not charged with any crimes) by the government under civil asset forfeiture.

Just the mere suspicion of a connection between your hard-earned property and illegal drugs is enough for this to happen. In fact, in Massachusetts, a motel owner might lose his motel to the government because of asset forfeiture for an average of one drug arrest per year at his motel in contrast to 14,000 yearly room rentals.

Our state police chief is not the only police officer who supports legalization: Law Enforcement Against Prohibition is an organization of former and current officers who support legalization.

Finally, the Indiana chapter of the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws is working to end this insanity, and it could use your support.

Jerome McCollom, Kokomo

 

President Obama is‘definitely’ arrogant

Do we ever agree with Kent Blacklidge! If we eliminated all the czars and traveling money available to the president, it would go a long way toward balancing the budget.

He definitely IS arrogant, and I don’t see why 51 percent don’t see it.

Pat Duchane, Kokomo

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll