Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

December 7, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 7, 2012

We need legislation on when life begins

So now Kate, the Duchess of Cambridge, is officially pregnant. I’m happy for her and her family.

But why is it that in news reports of her condition, she’s “having a baby” who someday perhaps will be the reigning monarch of the United Kingdom, and at the same time a poor girl in the streets who is told she’s got a problem with a “blob of tissue” can abort the problem and no one ever mentions the word “baby”?

It can’t be both a baby, who is a living human being, and an inanimate blob of tissue that is problematic and must be expelled from the body like a bad meal.

This is why we need a definitive statement on when human life begins!

Gayle Schnepp, Kokomo

 

State chief recognizes insanity of pot laws

Indiana State Police Superintendent Paul Whitesell has come out in support of the legalization, regulation and taxing of marijuana. He is exactly right.

With his 40-plus years in law enforcement, Superintendent Whitesell has seen the horrible effects of our nation’s and state’s war on marijuana. He has seen young lives destroyed by teenagers caught with a small amount of the drug. He has seen innocent people killed in the dark of night by SWAT teams that break down wrong doors, in order to enforce the war on marijuana and greater war on drugs. He has seen people have their property and money taken (even if not charged with any crimes) by the government under civil asset forfeiture.

Just the mere suspicion of a connection between your hard-earned property and illegal drugs is enough for this to happen. In fact, in Massachusetts, a motel owner might lose his motel to the government because of asset forfeiture for an average of one drug arrest per year at his motel in contrast to 14,000 yearly room rentals.

Our state police chief is not the only police officer who supports legalization: Law Enforcement Against Prohibition is an organization of former and current officers who support legalization.

Finally, the Indiana chapter of the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws is working to end this insanity, and it could use your support.

Jerome McCollom, Kokomo

 

President Obama is‘definitely’ arrogant

Do we ever agree with Kent Blacklidge! If we eliminated all the czars and traveling money available to the president, it would go a long way toward balancing the budget.

He definitely IS arrogant, and I don’t see why 51 percent don’t see it.

Pat Duchane, Kokomo

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll