Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 8, 2012

Cheers & Jeers: Dec. 8, 2012

A poem titled ‘Merry?’

Garrett W. Floyd of Kokomo sends this Jeer for contemporary Christmas celebrations:

“This writer has noticed recently that more and more our society is leaving Christ out of Christmas.

“Most of the Christmas songs you hear in the stores and on the radio are contemporary. Used to be at least there would be a mix with the traditional songs about our Lord. I viewed the production on NBC with the lighting of the New York City Christmas tree and all the songs with no mention of the true meaning of Christmas.

“Several years ago I composed a poem about Jesus being left out of his party:

“It’s Christmas Eve

“I’m reflecting on the greed

“People running all over one another

“(A stampede to find the perfect gift)

“Newscasts reporting on the economy

“Dreaming of a white Christmas

“(Was Jesus born in the snow?)

“The Lord has been expelled from school

“Driven away from public properties

“Bell ringers shoved into a corner

“And Santa Claus is god

“I don’t remember him being crucified

“I don’t remember hearing that he died for our sins

“And his spirit does not dwell within me

“I do not feel or see peace within the shopping malls

“My Lord is left out of His birthday party

“He’s an uninvited guest

“There are those of us who love Him

“And the peace of His Holy Spirit still lives within our souls”

 

Brenda Lee still ‘rockin’’

Jeff Hatton of Greentown sends this Cheer for a beloved popular singer:

“Brenda Mae Tarpley has her 68th birthday Dec. 11. She was born in a charity ward in an Atlanta, Ga., hospital weighing all of 4 pounds, 11 ounces.

“The family was poor, with no indoor plumbing in their early homes. But they had a battery-powered table radio that fascinated little Brenda Mae. Soon she was humming the melodies to the songs she heard on it, and she also sang solos in the Baptist church on Sunday.

“She grew up, all the way to 4 feet, 9 inches in height, and she became a singer with the new name of Brenda Lee. People were and still are amazed at such a powerful voice coming from so small a person.

“And sing she did. She had 37 hit songs on the U.S. charts from the late 1950s into the early 1960s. From 1960 to 1962, she had nine consecutive Billboard top 10 hits, a record for female singers until Madonna surpassed that total in 1986. Some of her songs were ‘All Alone Am I’, ‘Break It to Me Gently’ and ‘I’m Sorry’.

“As her voice matured in the late 1960s, she moved from rock ‘n’ roll to country music and had even more hits. She was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the Country Music Hall of Fame, the Rockabilly Hall of Fame and the Hit Parade Hall of Fame.

“And we can hear her during this time of year singing her biggest hit song, ‘Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree’. Recorded in 1958 when she was just 13 years old, the song didn’t sell well when it was first released. But it has sold 5 million copies, and it gets played prominently every Christmas.

“She continues to perform today, just as she did on tour in the United Kingdom in the early 1960s with her international fame. And in a footnote to her career, her opening act for that tour was a new and relatively unknown rock ‘n’ roll group who called themselves:

“The Beatles.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll