Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 9, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 9, 2012

People of conscience need Donnelly’s help

Hobby Lobby is facing large fines from the federal government beginning in January because it refuses to provide coverage for abortifacients to its 13,500 employees. We appeal to Sen.-elect Joe Donnelly to make good on his commitment as a pro-life Democrat.

We hope that Sen.-elect Donnelly was unaware of the consequences of his support for the law he voted for called the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, and that he will now push for protection for the consciences of fellow Hoosiers.

We know it may be difficult to stand alone if necessary, but we pray that Mr. Donnelly will be emboldened to do so.

The current smokescreen – that federal tax dollars will not pay for abortion drugs – is just that, a smokescreen. The government requiring businesses to pay for abortion drugs is certainly no better. Such

political ploys may divert criticism, but they suggest a deceptive and dishonest manner of governing.

We urge Mr. Donnelly to use the weight of his influence to protect those humans conceived but not yet born. Our religious convictions AND our scientific understanding of the human body are why we do not consider these drugs to be conducive to healthy living.

One of our former presidents wrote, “To compel a man to furnish contributions of money for the propagation of opinions which he disbelieves and abhors, is sinful and tyrannical”; and “All tyranny needs to gain a foothold is for people of good conscience to remain silent.”

David and Ann Ihms, Kokomo and 42 co-signers

 

Give your children ‘the ultimate gift’

I remember when I was a child, wanting all the coolest toys for Christmas. Now, as a parent, I love giving presents to my kids.

I also now realize the most precious gift ever given to me was and continues to be Christ. Without our precious Lord, we would never be able to give our children eternal value.

Christ was born for us, died for our sins (not his), rose for us, and now prepares a place at his father’s table for us.

This Christmas, give your children the ultimate gift! Share Christ with them. The only gift that truly keeps giving.

Remember, without Jesus, we can accomplish nothing. Happy birthday to our Lord and Savior, and thank you for giving me a chance at eternal life.

Joe Gardner, Kokomo

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll