Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 18, 2013

More INDOT indifference

Construction of Kokomo’s “bypass of the bypass” is racing toward completion.

Beginning with the underpass at County Roads 200 South (Southway Boulevard) and 50 North (Carter Street), work on the 12-mile, $155 million corridor east of the city has progressed steadily with few glitches.

Work has gone so smoothly, in fact, that our biggest frustration with the project occurred in 2009. The state had begun purchasing property along Ind. 22/U.S. 35, east of the McGonigal Buick, GMC and Cadillac franchise and Morning Star Church.

And it was easy to pinpoint which homes the state had bought.

Motorists and their passengers saw weeds and overgrown grass west of County Road 300 East. The appearance of Kokomo’s eastern gateway was a year-old eyesore.

Upkeep of the properties wasn’t the responsibility of the former homeowners, the city of Kokomo or Howard County government. Our state government was the owner of record.

The state later rectified its problem.

But here we are, at the tail-end of a project that is to be finished next month and simple maintenance of state property still is an issue.

U.S. 31 was an eyesore back in July and remains so three months later.

From the underpass under construction in northern Tipton County to the southern half of U.S. 31 through Kokomo, grass and weeds dominate the median splitting the southbound and northbound lanes. Vegetation still is more than 4 inches. City director of operations Randy McKay told us in July his office fielded at least a couple of calls daily from travelers complaining of the roadway’s appearance. We doubt such complaints have subsided.

Mayor Greg Goodnight and his staff made frequent pleas with the state Department of Transportation this past spring and summer to clean up its mess. The administration talked with state Sen. Jim Buck and state Rep. Mike Karickhoff about the problem, Goodnight told us. They had little sway then, and their influence apparently hasn’t improved.

For the second time in three months, we’re asking INDOT to do its job, show a little pride in the communities of this state and maintain the U.S. 31 median. Visitors and residents of Kokomo shouldn’t have to put up with an unkempt major artery.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll