Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 18, 2013

More INDOT indifference

Construction of Kokomo’s “bypass of the bypass” is racing toward completion.

Beginning with the underpass at County Roads 200 South (Southway Boulevard) and 50 North (Carter Street), work on the 12-mile, $155 million corridor east of the city has progressed steadily with few glitches.

Work has gone so smoothly, in fact, that our biggest frustration with the project occurred in 2009. The state had begun purchasing property along Ind. 22/U.S. 35, east of the McGonigal Buick, GMC and Cadillac franchise and Morning Star Church.

And it was easy to pinpoint which homes the state had bought.

Motorists and their passengers saw weeds and overgrown grass west of County Road 300 East. The appearance of Kokomo’s eastern gateway was a year-old eyesore.

Upkeep of the properties wasn’t the responsibility of the former homeowners, the city of Kokomo or Howard County government. Our state government was the owner of record.

The state later rectified its problem.

But here we are, at the tail-end of a project that is to be finished next month and simple maintenance of state property still is an issue.

U.S. 31 was an eyesore back in July and remains so three months later.

From the underpass under construction in northern Tipton County to the southern half of U.S. 31 through Kokomo, grass and weeds dominate the median splitting the southbound and northbound lanes. Vegetation still is more than 4 inches. City director of operations Randy McKay told us in July his office fielded at least a couple of calls daily from travelers complaining of the roadway’s appearance. We doubt such complaints have subsided.

Mayor Greg Goodnight and his staff made frequent pleas with the state Department of Transportation this past spring and summer to clean up its mess. The administration talked with state Sen. Jim Buck and state Rep. Mike Karickhoff about the problem, Goodnight told us. They had little sway then, and their influence apparently hasn’t improved.

For the second time in three months, we’re asking INDOT to do its job, show a little pride in the communities of this state and maintain the U.S. 31 median. Visitors and residents of Kokomo shouldn’t have to put up with an unkempt major artery.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Test needs less weight There's growing concern among school officials that computer problems could return with next week's ISTEP exams. Students in Zionsville reported computers freezing while taking practice tests Monday and Tuesday, the district's technology officer, Pat

    April 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Wallace for Center Twp board; honest gov't in Tipton Co.? Open, honest gov't in Tipton County? Seeing Tipton County Commissioner Phil Heron's campaign ad stating he is committed to open and honest government made me think of an issue that occurred in 2011 and 2012. I have researched the facts, which can all

    April 25, 2014

  • OPN - KT042514 - mike lewis mug MIKE LEWIS: Covering closed reports Part of nearly every sentencing hearing is closed to the public. We can be there to cover it for you, but we won't know about an important part of it. That's not the fault of reporters, local judges, prosecuting attorneys or defense lawyers. It's a w

    April 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Indiana's approach to teacher evaluations is too soft Indiana's system for evaluating how well its 55,000 public school teachers are doing their jobs smacks of absurdity on multiple levels. Absurdity No. 1: The ratings released by the Indiana Department of Education this month are clearly inflated. Abou

    April 25, 2014

  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Obama Tours Gyeongbok Palace Swimmer Michael Phelps Back in Competition Raw: Obama Lays Korean War Memorial Wreath Obama Leads Naturalization Ceremony in Seoul Calif. School Bus Crash Hurts Driver, 11 Kids Country Club for Exotic Cars Little Science Behind 'Pollen Vortex' Prediction US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll