Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 21, 2013

Oct. 21, 2013: Weekly wrap

State’s smaller communities can thrive

As the longtime twin pillars of Indiana’s economy, manufacturing and agriculture, have shed jobs by the hundreds of thousands in recent decades, many small towns and cities have struggled to rebuild local economies, retain skilled workers and forge a new sense of purpose.

The desperation can be seen in high unemployment and poverty rates. In boarded-up businesses and crumbling houses. In a loss of hope among many Hoosiers in rural areas and small towns that things will get better anytime soon.

In Connersville, for example, in southeastern Indiana, annual per capita is more than $7,000 below Indiana’s average, which itself is well below the national norm. Nearly one-third of children in Fayette County (Connersville is the county seat) live in poverty. And the county unemployment rate has remained stubbornly above 10 percent for years.

On the other side of the state, along Indiana’s western border, unemployment topped 10 percent in Fountain, Sullivan, Vermillion and Vigo counties this summer.

But exceptions are sprinkled throughout the state that shine as examples of what Indiana’s smaller communities can become with the right leadership, resources and vision. Kokomo in north-central Indiana and Ferdinand in the southern part of the state stand out as places where local leaders have stressed economic adaptability and community livability, and in doing so have achieved outstanding results.

Perhaps no place in Indiana is a better example of a small town with a big impact than Warsaw.

Only about 14,000 people call the Kosciusko County seat home. But the community’s role in the state’s economy is huge. Warsaw is home to companies such as Biomet, DePuy and Zimmer that help account for about one-third of the world’s orthopedic sales. Beyond the major companies, dozens of smaller firms in and around Warsaw are connected to the orthopedic industry, a sector that continues to grow as an aging population demands replacement knees and hips.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll