Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 21, 2013

Oct. 21, 2013: Weekly wrap

State’s smaller communities can thrive

As the longtime twin pillars of Indiana’s economy, manufacturing and agriculture, have shed jobs by the hundreds of thousands in recent decades, many small towns and cities have struggled to rebuild local economies, retain skilled workers and forge a new sense of purpose.

The desperation can be seen in high unemployment and poverty rates. In boarded-up businesses and crumbling houses. In a loss of hope among many Hoosiers in rural areas and small towns that things will get better anytime soon.

In Connersville, for example, in southeastern Indiana, annual per capita is more than $7,000 below Indiana’s average, which itself is well below the national norm. Nearly one-third of children in Fayette County (Connersville is the county seat) live in poverty. And the county unemployment rate has remained stubbornly above 10 percent for years.

On the other side of the state, along Indiana’s western border, unemployment topped 10 percent in Fountain, Sullivan, Vermillion and Vigo counties this summer.

But exceptions are sprinkled throughout the state that shine as examples of what Indiana’s smaller communities can become with the right leadership, resources and vision. Kokomo in north-central Indiana and Ferdinand in the southern part of the state stand out as places where local leaders have stressed economic adaptability and community livability, and in doing so have achieved outstanding results.

Perhaps no place in Indiana is a better example of a small town with a big impact than Warsaw.

Only about 14,000 people call the Kosciusko County seat home. But the community’s role in the state’s economy is huge. Warsaw is home to companies such as Biomet, DePuy and Zimmer that help account for about one-third of the world’s orthopedic sales. Beyond the major companies, dozens of smaller firms in and around Warsaw are connected to the orthopedic industry, a sector that continues to grow as an aging population demands replacement knees and hips.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll