Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 24, 2013

Amendment isn't needed

Indiana lawmakers really ought to follow the lead of former Gov. Mitch Daniels when it comes to a proposed constitutional amendment banning gay marriage.

They ought to listen to industry titans Eli Lilly and Co. and Cummins Inc., as well as the Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce, which announced its opposition to the amendment Tuesday.

Indiana law already bans same-sex marriage. There is no need for a constitutional amendment.

The measure amending the constitution states that only marriage between one man and one woman is valid in Indiana, and it prohibits civil unions by stating specifically that a legal status “substantially similar” to marriage is not valid.

For the amendment to take effect, it would have to be approved by two consecutively elected legislatures before being put to a public vote.

Thus, if the measure passes this legislative session, voters would decide the issue in a referendum in November 2014.

The arguments for and against the legislation haven’t changed.

Supporters say traditional heterosexual marriage is best for raising children, and they argue the amendment is needed to prevent courts from overturning the law that already forbids gay marriage. Opponents say the amendment would effectively write discrimination into the state’s constitution.

Our argument against the amendment is simple. Same-sex marriage already is banned by Indiana law. Debating a marriage amendment is an unnecessary waste of energy.

The Indiana Chamber of Commerce has said it will not take a position, for or against the amendment. But president Kevin Brinegar told The Indianapolis Star he would prefer lawmakers address jobs, economic growth and education this session.

Daniels gained national attention in 2010 with his suggestion the next president should call a truce on social issues so that he or she could concentrate on the real challenge facing the country, getting control of the national debt. Daniels repeated that recommendation just before the House passed the proposed amendment in February 2011.

The suggestion didn’t exactly endear Daniels to the Republican Party’s conservative base, but he was right. Now is no time for lawmakers to be distracted by this debate.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Royal Couple Visits Australia Mountains Raw: Pro-Russian Militants Killed on Base Captain of Sunken South Korean Ferry Apologizes Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing Raw: Blast at Tennessee Ammunition Plant Kills 1 Hoax Bomb Raises Anxiety in Boston Egypt Clamps Down on Mosques to Control Message After Fukushima, Japan Eyes Solar Power New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Ex-California City Leader Gets 12 Year Sentence Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict?
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll