Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 27, 2013

Public Eye

wage liberation

If Right to Work doesn’t seem like enough of a euphemism, then try out the latest catchphrase from the American Legislative Exchange Council, “Wage Liberation.”

The conservative group’s latest push is really pension reform, mainly in the form of privatizing and/or cutting private pensions.

The Indiana Public Retirement System has already acted to liberate some teachers from their pension funds, by voting to privatize an annuity option. Instead of a guaranteed 7.5 percent rate of return, the teachers choosing the annuity would receive market rate returns, which vary. Right now, the market rate is around 4 percent to 4.5 percent.

The big proponent of privatizing/cutting pensions is hedge fund billionaire John Arnold, who has teamed up with the Pew Charitable Trust to indict public pensions as a huge unfunded liability.

Critics say Arnold’s message, which has some truth to it, is severely undercut by the profit Arnold’s brethren on Wall Street stand to make if public pensions are privatized.

In Rhode Island, where significant pension reform has already been enacted, the state’s bill for financial management went from $11 million to $70 million, while the state pension funds’ rate of return failed to beat the Standard & Poor’s 500 index.

Then there are significant questions about how transparent the investments become, once they’re privatized. It’s worth remembering that in Kokomo, the late “wealth manager” Richard Schwartz almost gained control of the city’s pension funds. The Indiana Secretary of State’s office is currently collecting complaints from the victims of a Ponzi scheme allegedly run by Schwartz.

Seeking a second term

Although the start of filing for the May primary election is still three months away, Republican Mark McCann has announced he will be seeking a second term as Howard County Prosecutor.

McCann was first elected in 2010 and was unopposed in the general election. He previously served 16 years as chief deputy prosecutor during the term of Jim Fleming.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Treasure the life you have I was asked by a reader what my thought on what life is for me in my late years. So here I go with some of my thoughts, but don’t think I am just making them up as I go. Life to me is the time between the day I was born and the day that I am called h

    August 23, 2014

  • Cheers and Jeers Taste of Kokomo accommodationSusie and Andy Castner send this Cheer:“A cheer to Randy Morris, City of Kokomo Park Supt. for accommodating our family for the David Cook concert at Taste of Kokomo. It made it so much easier for our mom to get to seatin

    August 23, 2014

  • State challengesfederal government Recently, some have questioned why the State of Indiana has brought lawsuits against our federal government. While this litigation is adversarial by nature, it is a necessary part of our constitutional process. What distinguishes the U.S. Constitutio

    August 23, 2014

  • Aug. 23: Letters to the Editor Paying for lack of leadershipThe salaries of the Board of County Commissioners and the complete funding of the Local Economic Development Organization, is from taxes paid by the residents of Tipton County. The actions of these two entities are unacce

    August 23, 2014

  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll