Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

June 14, 2013

Letters to the Editor: June 14, 2013

County now wants young people?

As part of the new Tipton County Contradictory Plan of the future, county officials are seeking to attract and retain young people to ease population decline. Tipton officials’ answer to steady population decline is blanketing the entire county with industrial wind turbines.

I realize that younger generations are being indoctrinated to believe that wind turbines are fun, friendly and green, so perhaps the county’s solution may just work. I must respectfully disagree, as it’s completely laughable.

At most of the recent Tipton County government meetings, I find myself being one of the youngest people in the audience. I moved into my home in Prairie Township on Halloween in 2011. My neighbors have all been welcoming and more than polite. I like where I live. However, as a member of a younger generation, I honestly never would have bought my home in Tipton County had I known about the excessive commitment to wind turbines that my current government officials desire.

Tipton County wants young people, but only in certain areas. When all of the industrial turbines are placed, young people moving here will most likely have to inhabit the downtown areas of Tipton, Sharpsville, Windfall or Kempton. I’m not sure how many young people will be beating down the door to reside in downtown Tipton. So they can eat at the Jim Dandy?

When the young families do move to Tipton County, there will be trails to walk and bike along for up-close-and-personal views of industrial wind turbines. Perhaps our children can be granted tax abatements to sell lemonade on the side of these trails to out-of-towners just wanting a glimpse of our monuments. Like the Roman Empire, our turbines would convey power and wealth. At night, the whole county will become a fascinating red-light district, promoting even more excitement. There really will be nothing quite like the sound of a loud whoosh underneath hundreds of red-flashing lights on a beautiful July night. Who needs fireworks?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll