Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 17, 2013

June 17, 2013: Letters to the editor

Notification laws wrongly waived

Law once required people to notify neighbors through county officials if they wanted to change anything on their property. These laws were waived without our knowledge regarding turbines.

Most here didn’t know they were coming. Some still don’t! Meetings at the fairgrounds are by invitation and only to leasees. Commissioners claim they publicized their meeting agendas. For such a drastic impact as 500-foot behemoths, this should’ve been via mail, but the law was discarded.

The numerous studies on turbines’ negative effects are refused to be acknowledged, admitted, nor looked at by commissioners. To glean truth about the impact of turbines, drive the back roads of Tipton. That there are testimonies recorded online by people from Canada to various states, and that their testimony concurs exactly with those of Tipton County residents, only proves the validity of the testimonies. If all these people, most of whom have never met, were lying, they wouldn’t match so precisely!

As we realistic, responsible landowners explain what we’ve carefully researched, we’re called fearmongers. It’s our lives, homes, future, and we want the truth. Are our listeners afraid of the truth? Who are the fearful ones?

We’re told if our neighbors want to improve their land, we’ve no right to object. (We weren’t given that chance.) Are turbines improving land? Is this improvement: sad, devastated farm fields in Tipton; crushing field drain tiles placed over years of work in our flood-prone fields, putting all of us at greater risk of flooding; adverse effect on livestock?

Agriculture is a thriving industry on our prime farmland, bringing revenue to Howard County. Many crops are for alternative fuel, ethanol. Is depleting that for 95, 500-foot machines generating expensive electricity sold to Michigan providing six jobs with no tax dollars to us improvement? These aren’t farms. Farmers signed away rights to their land. They’re industrial complexes operated by E.ON, which doesn’t farm.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Treasure the life you have I was asked by a reader what my thought on what life is for me in my late years. So here I go with some of my thoughts, but don’t think I am just making them up as I go. Life to me is the time between the day I was born and the day that I am called h

    August 23, 2014

  • Cheers and Jeers Taste of Kokomo accommodationSusie and Andy Castner send this Cheer:“A cheer to Randy Morris, City of Kokomo Park Supt. for accommodating our family for the David Cook concert at Taste of Kokomo. It made it so much easier for our mom to get to seatin

    August 23, 2014

  • State challengesfederal government Recently, some have questioned why the State of Indiana has brought lawsuits against our federal government. While this litigation is adversarial by nature, it is a necessary part of our constitutional process. What distinguishes the U.S. Constitutio

    August 23, 2014

  • Aug. 23: Letters to the Editor Paying for lack of leadershipThe salaries of the Board of County Commissioners and the complete funding of the Local Economic Development Organization, is from taxes paid by the residents of Tipton County. The actions of these two entities are unacce

    August 23, 2014

  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll