Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

June 16, 2013

Week in Review

Art: Summer Lunch program

Monday

Kokomo water tower undergoing summer repairs

One of Kokomo’s four water towers is getting a $620,000 facelift this summer.

The 140-foot structure south of Markland Avenue, between Union and Main streets, needed minor structural repairs, according to Joe Loughmiller of Indiana American Water Co.

Contractors have been working for several weeks and will continue to make improvements through the middle of July.

The tower needed some structural repairs. Contractors also are sandblasting and coating the inside of the tower and sandblasting and painting the outside of it.

“As the tanks get older, they need repairs,” Loughmiller said.

This particular tower, which holds 500,000 gallons of water, was built in 1949 and was last repaired in 1984.

Loughmiller said the company worked with the Kokomo Fire Department to make sure the first responders would have enough water to fight fires while the repairs are being made.

Because Kokomo has three other towers, though, the fire department shouldn’t be affected, he said. The repairs also shouldn’t affect customer water pressure much either, he said.

Tuesday

Deputies: Man was stabbed in face

Denver — A 29-year-old Logansport man was arrested early Sunday morning after deputies say he stabbed a Denver man in the face in his driveway during an altercation.

Miami County deputies said Donny L. Sturgill approached the house of 48-year-old Robert Bex, 6200 block of North 150 West, Denver, late Saturday night along with two other men.

Authorities said Bex went to see what the three men were doing in his driveway. An altercation ensued and deputies said Sturgill stabbed Bex in the face and chest with a knife.

When deputies arrived on scene the three men had fled.

Bex was taken to Dukes Memorial Hospital where he was treated for stab wounds and released.

Deputies later located Sturgill, who was arrested on a Class B felony charge of aggravated battery with a deadly weapon. He is currently being held at the Miami County jail on a $35,000 bond.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Royal Couple Visits Australia Mountains Raw: Pro-Russian Militants Killed on Base Captain of Sunken South Korean Ferry Apologizes Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing Raw: Blast at Tennessee Ammunition Plant Kills 1 Hoax Bomb Raises Anxiety in Boston Egypt Clamps Down on Mosques to Control Message After Fukushima, Japan Eyes Solar Power New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Ex-California City Leader Gets 12 Year Sentence Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict?
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll