Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 16, 2013

Week in Review

Art: Summer Lunch program

Monday

Kokomo water tower undergoing summer repairs

One of Kokomo’s four water towers is getting a $620,000 facelift this summer.

The 140-foot structure south of Markland Avenue, between Union and Main streets, needed minor structural repairs, according to Joe Loughmiller of Indiana American Water Co.

Contractors have been working for several weeks and will continue to make improvements through the middle of July.

The tower needed some structural repairs. Contractors also are sandblasting and coating the inside of the tower and sandblasting and painting the outside of it.

“As the tanks get older, they need repairs,” Loughmiller said.

This particular tower, which holds 500,000 gallons of water, was built in 1949 and was last repaired in 1984.

Loughmiller said the company worked with the Kokomo Fire Department to make sure the first responders would have enough water to fight fires while the repairs are being made.

Because Kokomo has three other towers, though, the fire department shouldn’t be affected, he said. The repairs also shouldn’t affect customer water pressure much either, he said.

Tuesday

Deputies: Man was stabbed in face

Denver — A 29-year-old Logansport man was arrested early Sunday morning after deputies say he stabbed a Denver man in the face in his driveway during an altercation.

Miami County deputies said Donny L. Sturgill approached the house of 48-year-old Robert Bex, 6200 block of North 150 West, Denver, late Saturday night along with two other men.

Authorities said Bex went to see what the three men were doing in his driveway. An altercation ensued and deputies said Sturgill stabbed Bex in the face and chest with a knife.

When deputies arrived on scene the three men had fled.

Bex was taken to Dukes Memorial Hospital where he was treated for stab wounds and released.

Deputies later located Sturgill, who was arrested on a Class B felony charge of aggravated battery with a deadly weapon. He is currently being held at the Miami County jail on a $35,000 bond.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll