Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 18, 2013

June 18, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

How sad that we have a local government that is far more willing to have its citizens bear the physical and financial risks, while an intruding corporation lavishes in its government subsidies. Indeed, the wind company assurances are empty promises, until they back it up with legally binding guarantees. The burden of proof is on them, not the citizens of this county.

Keith Brautigam

Greentown

Economic turnaround negates turbine need

When wind turbine companies began seeking contracts with Howard County landowners in 2009, most Hoosiers were only familiar with wind turbines located in open spaces out west. Wind generating power projects developed in South Dakota and Iowa because these states ranked 46th and 36th, respectively, in population density. Indiana ranks 16th.

Let’s talk about another development since 2009: the size of wind turbines. In some instances, bigger is better, but not always. Larger, taller wind turbines capture more wind and produce more power, which is better for making more money. But the effects of noise, vibration and low-frequency signals are also greater, which isn’t a plus for nearby residents.

Lastly, consider the motive for inviting wind installations into our county: economic benefits. Howard County has certainly had its ups and downs. In late 2008, Forbes magazine ranked Kokomo as the third-fastest “dying city,” Chrysler was struggling and employment was dropping. By 2011, Kokomo was recognized nationally for its growth and economic recovery. Recently, Chrysler announced a major expansion that will create 1,200 jobs in our area.

So, since the local economy and wind turbines have gone through major changes, doesn’t it make sense to take another look at bringing industrial wind to rural Howard County? We don’t have to sacrifice our standard of living to a project that was initiated in 2009.

If there is not enough open space in our area for utilityscale wind generation, then the wind developers should look elsewhere. Write and urge our Howard County commissioners and Planning Commission to protect residents from wind turbine projects and go to easternhowardwind.com to learn more.

Howard County Concerned Citizens represents many who want to ensure that wind projects do no harm. Attend the commissioners’ meeting July 1 and support the best interests of Howard County.

Susie Cox

Greentown

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll