Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 18, 2013

June 18, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

How sad that we have a local government that is far more willing to have its citizens bear the physical and financial risks, while an intruding corporation lavishes in its government subsidies. Indeed, the wind company assurances are empty promises, until they back it up with legally binding guarantees. The burden of proof is on them, not the citizens of this county.

Keith Brautigam

Greentown

Economic turnaround negates turbine need

When wind turbine companies began seeking contracts with Howard County landowners in 2009, most Hoosiers were only familiar with wind turbines located in open spaces out west. Wind generating power projects developed in South Dakota and Iowa because these states ranked 46th and 36th, respectively, in population density. Indiana ranks 16th.

Let’s talk about another development since 2009: the size of wind turbines. In some instances, bigger is better, but not always. Larger, taller wind turbines capture more wind and produce more power, which is better for making more money. But the effects of noise, vibration and low-frequency signals are also greater, which isn’t a plus for nearby residents.

Lastly, consider the motive for inviting wind installations into our county: economic benefits. Howard County has certainly had its ups and downs. In late 2008, Forbes magazine ranked Kokomo as the third-fastest “dying city,” Chrysler was struggling and employment was dropping. By 2011, Kokomo was recognized nationally for its growth and economic recovery. Recently, Chrysler announced a major expansion that will create 1,200 jobs in our area.

So, since the local economy and wind turbines have gone through major changes, doesn’t it make sense to take another look at bringing industrial wind to rural Howard County? We don’t have to sacrifice our standard of living to a project that was initiated in 2009.

If there is not enough open space in our area for utilityscale wind generation, then the wind developers should look elsewhere. Write and urge our Howard County commissioners and Planning Commission to protect residents from wind turbine projects and go to easternhowardwind.com to learn more.

Howard County Concerned Citizens represents many who want to ensure that wind projects do no harm. Attend the commissioners’ meeting July 1 and support the best interests of Howard County.

Susie Cox

Greentown

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll