Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 21, 2013

The progress we're making

Every Howard County school district published an annual report in the June 11 edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They’re required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they’re worth a read.

The reports assembled the most recent data available on student test scores, graduation rates, school safety, teacher salaries and school expenditures.

You could find by looking at the reports that, other than Kokomo, Howard County schools are spending less per student than the state average. Spending last year ranged from $9,400 per student at Western to $10,900 per student at Taylor. Kokomo spent $13,700 per student. The state average was $11,400.

You could also learn how local schools compare in terms of teacher salaries. Local teachers stack up well on starting salaries, which ranged from $29,518 at Taylor to $32,095 at Eastern. The state’s minimum salary was $24,481.

Experienced teachers, though, didn’t fare quite so well. The maximum teacher’s salary ranged from $60,022 at Taylor to $69,474 at Kokomo, the latter salary unchanged from the previous three years. The state’s maximum teacher salary was $84,279.

The reports show that the percentage of graduates pursuing a college education ranged from 71 percent at Eastern to 89 percent at Western. Taylor has seen an 18 percent increase over the last two years. Eighty-two percent of its 2012 graduates entered college. The statewide average was 76 percent.

The reports also include the percentage of graduates earning academic honors diplomas. They ranged from 20.6 percent at Kokomo to 55.2 percent at Western. The state average was 32.3 percent.

The report will tell you average SAT scores and the percentage of students passing the graduation qualifying exam. It will show you the average class size at your child’s elementary school and how that compares to the state average.

The goal of presenting this information in a single report is to encourage students, parents and concerned residents to play a more active role in their schools.

If you haven’t already taken a look at the report, you should.

And if you don’t like what you see, you should check with your school’s principal, with the parent-teacher group or with the local school board to find out what you can do to make a difference.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll