Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

June 21, 2013

The progress we're making

Every Howard County school district published an annual report in the June 11 edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They’re required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they’re worth a read.

The reports assembled the most recent data available on student test scores, graduation rates, school safety, teacher salaries and school expenditures.

You could find by looking at the reports that, other than Kokomo, Howard County schools are spending less per student than the state average. Spending last year ranged from $9,400 per student at Western to $10,900 per student at Taylor. Kokomo spent $13,700 per student. The state average was $11,400.

You could also learn how local schools compare in terms of teacher salaries. Local teachers stack up well on starting salaries, which ranged from $29,518 at Taylor to $32,095 at Eastern. The state’s minimum salary was $24,481.

Experienced teachers, though, didn’t fare quite so well. The maximum teacher’s salary ranged from $60,022 at Taylor to $69,474 at Kokomo, the latter salary unchanged from the previous three years. The state’s maximum teacher salary was $84,279.

The reports show that the percentage of graduates pursuing a college education ranged from 71 percent at Eastern to 89 percent at Western. Taylor has seen an 18 percent increase over the last two years. Eighty-two percent of its 2012 graduates entered college. The statewide average was 76 percent.

The reports also include the percentage of graduates earning academic honors diplomas. They ranged from 20.6 percent at Kokomo to 55.2 percent at Western. The state average was 32.3 percent.

The report will tell you average SAT scores and the percentage of students passing the graduation qualifying exam. It will show you the average class size at your child’s elementary school and how that compares to the state average.

The goal of presenting this information in a single report is to encourage students, parents and concerned residents to play a more active role in their schools.

If you haven’t already taken a look at the report, you should.

And if you don’t like what you see, you should check with your school’s principal, with the parent-teacher group or with the local school board to find out what you can do to make a difference.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll