Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

June 21, 2013

June 21, 2013: Letters to the editor

Many in Tipton Co. get farm subsidies

For all Tipton County residents, the long, drawn out issue with the wind turbines in populated areas has taken a toll on people.

The leaseholders want these and talk about saving their farms. Look online at the EWG Farm Subsidy Database and type in the ZIP code 46072. It will list only the farmers in that area code; it isn’t even all the Tipton County people who get government monies. But it will give you a detailed amount each farmer in that area code gets in subsidies.

It appears to me they are not trying to save farms. It might behoove you to look up the farmers in your area and see the amount of monies they get every year, trying to save their farms. To me, these farms should be paid for. We sure don’t get subsidies to pay for our places, so I don’t understand all the argument about saving farms for their children and grandchildren.

This isn’t an attack on leaseholders, farmers, landowners. I’m just trying to understand. Like Mr. Rayl admitted at the BZA meeting, it was the money factor for him. This decision for turbines should not be based on money. It should be the will of the people and their health, property values, and the many other things these nasty turbines do.

Go talk to the people living in the Wildcat Wind Farm and hear their stories. I went to a meeting over there to just hear what they were saying, and it is pitiful what has happened to them and what they are going through.

It’s about time people stop talking for their pocketbooks and start listening to the will of the people. I am ashamed for the greed of some of the people who want these.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll