Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

June 26, 2013

House of Burgess: Long live Tony Soprano

Actor James Gandolfini died last week at 51.

On Jan. 10, 1999, television changed forever. I was a sophomore in high school. It was a Sunday night. I probably should have been asleep.

Instead, I was in my room watching HBO. A new show was premiering. I had heard bits and pieces about the premise — a depressed mob boss visits a shrink — but I knew little else. I was hooked by the time the title sequence — in which the protagonist drives from New York City to his home in New Jersey — finished with the words: “The Sopranos.” What I observed for the next hour exploded everything I thought I knew about television.

I recalled this teenage memory June 19 when I first heard James Gandolfini — the actor who had given life to main character Tony Soprano — died in Italy of an apparent heart attack. He was only 51. It’s hard to imagine the thespian who portrayed Tony Soprano died, because it doesn’t seem possible he was ever born.

Gandolfini’s sad-eyed demeanor seemed to be carved out of granite that had been first fashioned in a faraway epoch. There is something elemental about the entire enterprise. I have always thought the setting of “The Sopranos” could be changed to any point in history without the actors or (most of) the dialogue changing, and it would still be one of the best shows ever. (For example, I always thought it would be interesting to transport the show to Roman times.) It was a timeless story, but it needed actors up to the challenge. Therein lies Gandolfini’s importance.

To understand the reason Gandolfini is such an icon in the history of the small screen, look no farther than the crop of critically lauded shows that followed it: “Mad Men” (whose creator, Matthew Weiner, also worked on “The Sopranos”), “Breaking Bad,” “Six Feet Under,” “The Wire,” “Dexter,” “Weeds.” The list goes on and on and on. None of the programs I listed could have possibly existed without “The Sopranos.” Tony Soprano gave everyone from Don Draper to Dexter Morgan to Walter White room to breathe. Say hello to the bad guy: He’s got emotions too.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll