Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 26, 2013

MARK HEINIG: Affordable Care Act: Imperfect, inevitable

Conservatives, liberals must implement it

(Continued)

Surprisingly, the first modern political leader to introduce national health insurance was an archconservative. Otto von Bismarck, Germany’s “Iron Chancellor,” did it in 1883. He also introduced compulsory accident insurance in 1884 and old age pensions in 1889. Bismarck was no friend of the common folk, but he realized these concessions would relieve their discontent without weakening the monarchy. What he really wanted to ensure was the continued prosperity and power of Germany’s ruling class. Nevertheless, his reforms served as the original model for the modern welfare state many nations later followed.

Other leaders, both conservative and liberal, have subsequently brought universal health care to their countries. When the Affordable Care Act passed, the U.S. became the last developed nation to do so, according to World Health Organization data. On this issue, I prefer the terms conservative and liberal to Republican and Democrat. They have similar meanings in many countries, and they are less tainted by the emotions and the bias of partisan politics.

We’re headed for a long period of trial and error in universal health care. We need to discover what works for us and what doesn’t. Ultimately, we must create a plan that meets our unique needs. However, the experience of other nations can help us. Part of what worked for them may also work for us. Part, but not all!

Some type of universal health care seems inevitable, because we can’t say no. Medical research, new pharmaceuticals and improved treatments will always be possible, but they will always be tremendously expensive, too. I’m alive today because I had coronary bypass surgery 20 years ago. It cost nearly $30,000 then. Today, it probably costs much more but has less risk. Other things cost a lot, too, but we have more alternatives.

Gasoline is nearly $4 a gallon, but most of us can drive less. We can carpool, use more public transportation and purchase smaller cars that consume less fuel. There was a time when I bought a new car as soon as I paid off my old one. Now, I drive my car until the repairs cost me as much as buying a new one. I can say no to a new car, but how could I say no to a heart transplant if I would die without it?

The best way to make health care affordable is to share the cost with as many people as possible. Every kind of insurance involves sharing the risk and sharing the cost. Universal health care will never be perfect, but what is?

Mark Heinig Jr. of Kokomo is a retired Indiana principal and teacher. Contact him at markjr1708@gmail.com.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll