Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 26, 2013

MARK HEINIG: Affordable Care Act: Imperfect, inevitable

Conservatives, liberals must implement it

(Continued)

Surprisingly, the first modern political leader to introduce national health insurance was an archconservative. Otto von Bismarck, Germany’s “Iron Chancellor,” did it in 1883. He also introduced compulsory accident insurance in 1884 and old age pensions in 1889. Bismarck was no friend of the common folk, but he realized these concessions would relieve their discontent without weakening the monarchy. What he really wanted to ensure was the continued prosperity and power of Germany’s ruling class. Nevertheless, his reforms served as the original model for the modern welfare state many nations later followed.

Other leaders, both conservative and liberal, have subsequently brought universal health care to their countries. When the Affordable Care Act passed, the U.S. became the last developed nation to do so, according to World Health Organization data. On this issue, I prefer the terms conservative and liberal to Republican and Democrat. They have similar meanings in many countries, and they are less tainted by the emotions and the bias of partisan politics.

We’re headed for a long period of trial and error in universal health care. We need to discover what works for us and what doesn’t. Ultimately, we must create a plan that meets our unique needs. However, the experience of other nations can help us. Part of what worked for them may also work for us. Part, but not all!

Some type of universal health care seems inevitable, because we can’t say no. Medical research, new pharmaceuticals and improved treatments will always be possible, but they will always be tremendously expensive, too. I’m alive today because I had coronary bypass surgery 20 years ago. It cost nearly $30,000 then. Today, it probably costs much more but has less risk. Other things cost a lot, too, but we have more alternatives.

Gasoline is nearly $4 a gallon, but most of us can drive less. We can carpool, use more public transportation and purchase smaller cars that consume less fuel. There was a time when I bought a new car as soon as I paid off my old one. Now, I drive my car until the repairs cost me as much as buying a new one. I can say no to a new car, but how could I say no to a heart transplant if I would die without it?

The best way to make health care affordable is to share the cost with as many people as possible. Every kind of insurance involves sharing the risk and sharing the cost. Universal health care will never be perfect, but what is?

Mark Heinig Jr. of Kokomo is a retired Indiana principal and teacher. Contact him at markjr1708@gmail.com.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll