Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 26, 2013

Gift for future generations

Outdoor enthusiasts got some good news recently concerning two local trails. Though it likely will take a couple of years to finish, the city of Kokomo currently is working toward linking the Nickel Plate Trail with its own Industrial Heritage Trail.

Once complete, perhaps by 2015, the merged trails will run from Rochester to Kokomo’s Gano Street.

First, the Nickel Plate will be brought south from Cassville’s Main Street to Howard County Road 400 North, near the Indiana Transmission Plant I’s north parking lot. To get there, the trail must be laid under a new U.S. 31 bypass that crosses the trail south of 450 North.

Once the overpass is complete, it’s just a matter of clearing and grading the railroad easement and paving it south to 400 North. There, the city will install a trailhead parking area.

The city hopes to have this part of the project complete by the end of this year.

City engineer Carey Stranahan told us earlier this month the administration also hopes to complete a trail from Apperson Way North, near where it merges with North Washington Street, south to Gano Street. Howard County government is contributing $290,000 for the trail, and the Indiana Department of Transportation is kicking in another $150,000.

Standing in the way of completing the linked trail to Gano Street is a $2 million pedestrian bridge spanning the current U.S. 31. State and federal grants will pay the majority of the cost, with the city kicking in about $550,000. Stranahan estimates completion of the pedestrian bridge by 2015.

When that happens, the trail will stretch 42 miles from Rochester to Kokomo. And the hard work of residents and organizers — Kokomo resident Charlie Skoog, the local Citizens Advisory Committee on Alternative Transportation, Mayor Greg Goodnight and the Howard County commissioners — will ensure it does.

Their work now will pay dividends for generations to come.

Whether you’re walking, running or riding a bicycle, the trails offer a great way to get out and get some exercise, not to mention enjoy the beautiful Indiana scenery.

The volunteers and government officials pursuing these projects have shown great vision. We applaud them for their efforts.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership' On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than

    April 16, 2014

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge US Supports Ukraine's Efforts to Calm Tensions Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' After Attack, Officials Kill 5 Bears in Florida Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll