Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 26, 2013

Gift for future generations

Outdoor enthusiasts got some good news recently concerning two local trails. Though it likely will take a couple of years to finish, the city of Kokomo currently is working toward linking the Nickel Plate Trail with its own Industrial Heritage Trail.

Once complete, perhaps by 2015, the merged trails will run from Rochester to Kokomo’s Gano Street.

First, the Nickel Plate will be brought south from Cassville’s Main Street to Howard County Road 400 North, near the Indiana Transmission Plant I’s north parking lot. To get there, the trail must be laid under a new U.S. 31 bypass that crosses the trail south of 450 North.

Once the overpass is complete, it’s just a matter of clearing and grading the railroad easement and paving it south to 400 North. There, the city will install a trailhead parking area.

The city hopes to have this part of the project complete by the end of this year.

City engineer Carey Stranahan told us earlier this month the administration also hopes to complete a trail from Apperson Way North, near where it merges with North Washington Street, south to Gano Street. Howard County government is contributing $290,000 for the trail, and the Indiana Department of Transportation is kicking in another $150,000.

Standing in the way of completing the linked trail to Gano Street is a $2 million pedestrian bridge spanning the current U.S. 31. State and federal grants will pay the majority of the cost, with the city kicking in about $550,000. Stranahan estimates completion of the pedestrian bridge by 2015.

When that happens, the trail will stretch 42 miles from Rochester to Kokomo. And the hard work of residents and organizers — Kokomo resident Charlie Skoog, the local Citizens Advisory Committee on Alternative Transportation, Mayor Greg Goodnight and the Howard County commissioners — will ensure it does.

Their work now will pay dividends for generations to come.

Whether you’re walking, running or riding a bicycle, the trails offer a great way to get out and get some exercise, not to mention enjoy the beautiful Indiana scenery.

The volunteers and government officials pursuing these projects have shown great vision. We applaud them for their efforts.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll