Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 16, 2013

July 16, 2013: Letters to the editor

Obamacare delays: Politics as usual

Thought I would write about something other than windmills. I want to talk about Obamacare. For the second week in a row, Obama’s minions dumped piles of information on a Friday afternoon, July 5, hoping it would get lost, especially on a holiday weekend.

The “employer mandate” was delayed and the mystical date chosen was after the 2014 midterms. If our president is so proud of this misnamed Affordable Care Act (not), why is he keeping it at arm’s length?

Now, on July 5, we find out the reporting portion will not be verified and, instead, we are on the honor system to trust our fellow Americans that they are at the income thresholds to be eligible.

I am sorry but I look around and see too many incidents of people not acting ethically and honestly. Obamacare is costing around $1 trillion. Estimates are that 25 percent of all benefits go to ineligible people now, so that means another $250 billion of potential waste is being laid on the table by an administration that is easily as unethical as Nixon’s.

Obama has always been labeled as an exceptional politician, and these two latest Obamacare delays or waivers show he is willing to do what it takes to take action to make himself look good.

One final point, and this is a constitutional one: Does Obama have authority to unilaterally change a law that Congress enacted? There has been no consent from Congress authorizing Obama’s change to the Affordable Care Act. This is a line-item veto that is not allowed on a federal level. But does Obama care? Probably not, since he gets away with most of his misdeeds.

Mike Moran

Kokomo

Plan Commission ignores public input

The Tipton County commissioners and the county’s Planning Commission have made it known publicly that if you do not agree with their plans of infiltrating the county with wind turbines, don’t bother giving them your views and research that supports why wind turbines don’t belong in heavily populated areas.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Kangaroo Rescued From Swimming Pool Raw: 3 American Doctors Killed in Afghanistan Raw: Obama Arrives at State Dinner in Tokyo Raw: Obama Plays Soccer With Japanese Robot Raw: Obama Visits Meiji Shrine in Tokyo Stars Talk Guns N' Roses at Golden Gods New Pictures of Ship That Sank in 1888 Oregon Gay Marriage Ban Goes to Court SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye'
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll