Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 16, 2013

July 16, 2013: Letters to the editor

Obamacare delays: Politics as usual

Thought I would write about something other than windmills. I want to talk about Obamacare. For the second week in a row, Obama’s minions dumped piles of information on a Friday afternoon, July 5, hoping it would get lost, especially on a holiday weekend.

The “employer mandate” was delayed and the mystical date chosen was after the 2014 midterms. If our president is so proud of this misnamed Affordable Care Act (not), why is he keeping it at arm’s length?

Now, on July 5, we find out the reporting portion will not be verified and, instead, we are on the honor system to trust our fellow Americans that they are at the income thresholds to be eligible.

I am sorry but I look around and see too many incidents of people not acting ethically and honestly. Obamacare is costing around $1 trillion. Estimates are that 25 percent of all benefits go to ineligible people now, so that means another $250 billion of potential waste is being laid on the table by an administration that is easily as unethical as Nixon’s.

Obama has always been labeled as an exceptional politician, and these two latest Obamacare delays or waivers show he is willing to do what it takes to take action to make himself look good.

One final point, and this is a constitutional one: Does Obama have authority to unilaterally change a law that Congress enacted? There has been no consent from Congress authorizing Obama’s change to the Affordable Care Act. This is a line-item veto that is not allowed on a federal level. But does Obama care? Probably not, since he gets away with most of his misdeeds.

Mike Moran

Kokomo

Plan Commission ignores public input

The Tipton County commissioners and the county’s Planning Commission have made it known publicly that if you do not agree with their plans of infiltrating the county with wind turbines, don’t bother giving them your views and research that supports why wind turbines don’t belong in heavily populated areas.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll