Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 16, 2013

July 16, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

As part of the requirement of implementing a new comprehensive plan for the county, public input was to be included in every step of the process, as outlined by the consulting firm of Houseal Lavigne Associates of Illinois.

An online survey was part of gathering public input, and this survey remained online until May 2013. The consultant was asked at the May Planning Commission meeting what dates of the responses from the survey he used. He said up to December 2012. When asked why the responses after that date were not used, he replied, “It was only a handful and it didn’t change the results.”

I obtained the results of the survey. In the comprehensive plan, its states 40 residents completed the online survey. Up to May 2013, 123 residents had completed the survey. Just 33 percent completed it at the end of 2012. The input of 67 percent of the residents was rejected, and their input was not included in the plan.

One question asks, “What types of development would you NOT like to see in Tipton County?” Overwhelmingly, 98 percent of the respondents stated they did not want wind farm development, and these responses were all in 2013. There was only one response in 2012, and it stated any development would be good. These 98 percent of responses were not included in the plan.

The Planning Commission has been presented with 52 complaint forms containing 168 unique complaints from citizens living in the Wildcat Wind Farm because the commissioners refused to accept these complaints. None of these complaints were even a consideration when developing the comprehensive plan. How can these complaints not be examined when, in the plan, it states concerns about preserving and enhancing the quality, character, safety, affordability and appeal of residential areas?

The Planning Commission majority consists of either wind turbine leaseholders, those who have family members involved with leases or those who work for a leaseholder. The one person who was concerned about the health and safety of Tipton County residents and voted against accepting the comprehensive plan was Helen Tragesser. Her recommendation of studying the complaints presented by the Wildcat Wind Farm residents was ignored by the majority of the Planning Commission, who want to push through their own agenda.

It is a sad time for Tipton County when the majority of residents’ voices are being ignored by elected and appointed officials. If they really believe they are representing the majority, then let us vote on this issue in the next election.

Pat Slusher

Kempton

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll