Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 16, 2013

July 16, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

As part of the requirement of implementing a new comprehensive plan for the county, public input was to be included in every step of the process, as outlined by the consulting firm of Houseal Lavigne Associates of Illinois.

An online survey was part of gathering public input, and this survey remained online until May 2013. The consultant was asked at the May Planning Commission meeting what dates of the responses from the survey he used. He said up to December 2012. When asked why the responses after that date were not used, he replied, “It was only a handful and it didn’t change the results.”

I obtained the results of the survey. In the comprehensive plan, its states 40 residents completed the online survey. Up to May 2013, 123 residents had completed the survey. Just 33 percent completed it at the end of 2012. The input of 67 percent of the residents was rejected, and their input was not included in the plan.

One question asks, “What types of development would you NOT like to see in Tipton County?” Overwhelmingly, 98 percent of the respondents stated they did not want wind farm development, and these responses were all in 2013. There was only one response in 2012, and it stated any development would be good. These 98 percent of responses were not included in the plan.

The Planning Commission has been presented with 52 complaint forms containing 168 unique complaints from citizens living in the Wildcat Wind Farm because the commissioners refused to accept these complaints. None of these complaints were even a consideration when developing the comprehensive plan. How can these complaints not be examined when, in the plan, it states concerns about preserving and enhancing the quality, character, safety, affordability and appeal of residential areas?

The Planning Commission majority consists of either wind turbine leaseholders, those who have family members involved with leases or those who work for a leaseholder. The one person who was concerned about the health and safety of Tipton County residents and voted against accepting the comprehensive plan was Helen Tragesser. Her recommendation of studying the complaints presented by the Wildcat Wind Farm residents was ignored by the majority of the Planning Commission, who want to push through their own agenda.

It is a sad time for Tipton County when the majority of residents’ voices are being ignored by elected and appointed officials. If they really believe they are representing the majority, then let us vote on this issue in the next election.

Pat Slusher

Kempton

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll