Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 18, 2013

BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: New guidelines for 21st Century Scholarships

Too many struggle to earn college degree or credential.

New require-ments have been imple-mented for Indiana’s 21st Century Scholars program, which provides funding to low-income students to obtain additional education after high school. Seventh- and eighth-graders eligible for free or reduced price meals at school may enroll. Scholars must graduate high school with a 2.5 or higher GPA and stay away from drugs, alcohol and other criminal behavior to earn scholarships equivalent to public university tuition good at any public or private college or university in Indiana.

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education (ICHE) says more than 100,000 students are enrolled — 15,000 in postsecondary education, 85,000 in middle and high school. Despite more than $200 million granted in 21st Century Scholarships in the last five years, too many Scholars struggle to earn a degree or credential.

Scholars graduate from high school at a rate higher than the state average (90 percent to 88 percent) but earn associate or bachelor degrees at lower rates than the state average.

So ICHE has implemented the Scholar Success Program — 12 steps Scholars must complete in high school to earn the scholarship.

“We feel a sense of urgency to improve the success rates of 21st Century Scholars and make a great state program even stronger,” said Teresa Lubbers, Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education. “We believe the new Scholar Success Program requirements will go a long way toward providing Scholars with added structure and support they need to stay on the path to college readiness and completion.”

High school freshman must write a graduation plan, complete a learning module on college finances and be involved with an extracurricular or community-service activity.

Sophomore requirements include completing a career interest assessment, visiting a workplace and utilizing the Indiana College Cost Estimator (www.indianacollegecosts.org).

High school juniors must make a college visit, take a college entrance exam (ACT or SAT) and search for additional scholarships. According to Chris Enstrom, director of outreach, too many Scholars do not realize they are still eligible for other financial aid including the federal Pell grant.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Royal Couple Visits Australia Mountains Raw: Pro-Russian Militants Killed on Base Captain of Sunken South Korean Ferry Apologizes Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing Raw: Blast at Tennessee Ammunition Plant Kills 1 Hoax Bomb Raises Anxiety in Boston Egypt Clamps Down on Mosques to Control Message After Fukushima, Japan Eyes Solar Power New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Ex-California City Leader Gets 12 Year Sentence Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict?
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll