Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 21, 2013

ED VASICEK: On college, Twinkies and BB guns

Human nature can be quite fascinating

The best way to make a small fortune in the stock market is to start out with a large one. Economics are not what they once were, and modern economics are impacting our colleges and universities.

One of my favorite “futurists,” Thomas Frey, projects that more than half of colleges will close their doors by 2030. With the popularity and convenience of online courses, rising costs, and a host of other factors, many traditional institutions will simply vanish.

He shares some surprising statistics:

“Last year 284,000 college graduates, including 37,000 advance degree holders in the U.S. were working minimum wage jobs in 2012,” he told the Wall Street Journal.

Out of 41.7 million working college graduates of 2010 in the U.S., 48 percent worked jobs that didn’t require a bachelor’s degree, according to the Huffington Post.

In China, a recent study projected that more than half of the 94 million Chinese earning college degrees between 2010 and 2020 will be working blue-collar jobs because of an oversupply of talent, the International Business Times reported.

Despite changing times, a college education — particularly if it is in the right field — can make a major difference. Of course there is no guarantee that today’s demand cannot be tomorrow’s glut.

We are certainly still reeling from the economic meltdown that began in 2008, so we are not in the ideal position to determine what the new “normal” might be. The national unemployment rate stands at 7.6 percent for June, yet many working Americans are not in the financial position they once were.

The Kokomo Tribune recently reported annual average family income in Indiana dropped from $79,599 in 2000 to $57,148 in 2011. That’s more than a fourth. In addition, some costs have risen since 2000. Because of rising health costs, rising taxes and lowered income, many of us now experience a lower standard of living than we once did. My suspicion is that, as the economy improves (if it does), college degrees will become more valuable than they now are, yet not as valuable as they once were (unless rightly targeted).

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll