Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 23, 2013

Blood supply needs boost

By the time you’ve finished reading this (assuming you’re an average reader who takes in 250 words per minute), 60 people will have needed a blood transfusion, give or take.

That’s because every 2 seconds someone needs one. You can’t hardly start and stop a timer in 2 seconds, but in that time, someone’s life is on the line. Another 2 seconds, another life.

Take a moment and think about that number in a context greater than the time it takes to read today’s paper. How many blood transfusions are needed every day? Every week? Every year?

We haven’t put a pencil to the math, but those will be some big numbers. Shocking numbers. And when you think of the many lives behind those numbers, they become scary.

What if one of those numbers was someone you loved? Statistically, it’s likely the lives of several people reading these words depend on blood donations. What if one of those lives was yours?

It might not be you today, and it might not be your loved one tomorrow, but eventually someone you know and love will be on the receiving end of a blood transfusion.

But what if the blood you needed wasn’t available?

What if it was because too few people donated?

What if too many people got wrapped up in their summers and vacations and put donating blood on the back burner until the fall arrives?

That last one isn’t a what if. It’s actually a reality.

Nationwide, donations to the American Red Cross were down 10 percent in June, resulting in about 50,000 fewer donations than expected. A nice chunk of that is because high school and college students make up 20 percent of Red Cross donations. With school out, those donations aren’t happening.

Locally, and across the nation, the Red Cross is calling on people to give blood to ward off shrinking supplies. Your donation can save three lives. Red blood cells can be used for accident victims, platelets are used for cancer patients and plasma is used for burn victims.

We encourage anyone who can to make the time for those three lives and countless others by giving blood. You have the power to be someone’s hero.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll