Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

April 21, 2012

Cheers and Jeers - Saturday, April 21, 2012

— Celebrate with healthy soil

Jane Hardisty, a state conservationist with the Indiana Natural Resource Conservation Service, sends this Cheer for soil health:

“April 22 marks the 42nd anniversary of Earth Day, and people around the world will celebrate with activities that boost our awareness and appreciation of the environment. The event calls us into action to address all kinds of local environmental issues and challenges. Farming is often among the list of challenges; however, I believe farming is the original green job and it’s getting greener all the time. In fact, many of Indiana’s farmers are on a health kick – that is, a soil health kick!

“Soil health is achieved by disturbing the soil as little as possible, keeping it covered, growing as many different species of plants as practical, and keeping living plants in the soil as much as possible. Soil health practices are green because they use less energy, fuel, pesticides and nutrients; reducing pollution, improving our air and water quality, reducing flooding and enhancing wildlife habitat.

“Healthy soil matters to all of us with the increased demand for food production to feed our growing population, a decrease in available land, and the U.S. and the world becoming more dependent on finite resources just to keep up with demand.

“In the agency I work for, the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, we are excited to work hand-in-hand with Indiana farmers to find the best combination of conservation practices to manage their land for optimal soil health. And the excitement is building as farmers are seeing incredible success when groups of practices such as no-till, cover crops, advanced nutrient and pest management, and buffers and drainage systems (where appropriate) are implemented together as a ‘system.’

“This is not a new way to farm – just a new way to think about farming. Farmers can see that healthy soil not only results in environmental gains, it makes sense and makes money! Managing farm fields for soil health means greater yield protection, lower energy and fuel needs because of less soil disturbance, less physical labor, reduced compaction and more.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll