Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

April 21, 2012

Cheers and Jeers - Saturday, April 21, 2012

— Celebrate with healthy soil

Jane Hardisty, a state conservationist with the Indiana Natural Resource Conservation Service, sends this Cheer for soil health:

“April 22 marks the 42nd anniversary of Earth Day, and people around the world will celebrate with activities that boost our awareness and appreciation of the environment. The event calls us into action to address all kinds of local environmental issues and challenges. Farming is often among the list of challenges; however, I believe farming is the original green job and it’s getting greener all the time. In fact, many of Indiana’s farmers are on a health kick – that is, a soil health kick!

“Soil health is achieved by disturbing the soil as little as possible, keeping it covered, growing as many different species of plants as practical, and keeping living plants in the soil as much as possible. Soil health practices are green because they use less energy, fuel, pesticides and nutrients; reducing pollution, improving our air and water quality, reducing flooding and enhancing wildlife habitat.

“Healthy soil matters to all of us with the increased demand for food production to feed our growing population, a decrease in available land, and the U.S. and the world becoming more dependent on finite resources just to keep up with demand.

“In the agency I work for, the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, we are excited to work hand-in-hand with Indiana farmers to find the best combination of conservation practices to manage their land for optimal soil health. And the excitement is building as farmers are seeing incredible success when groups of practices such as no-till, cover crops, advanced nutrient and pest management, and buffers and drainage systems (where appropriate) are implemented together as a ‘system.’

“This is not a new way to farm – just a new way to think about farming. Farmers can see that healthy soil not only results in environmental gains, it makes sense and makes money! Managing farm fields for soil health means greater yield protection, lower energy and fuel needs because of less soil disturbance, less physical labor, reduced compaction and more.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll