Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 10, 2014

New issues with ISTEP

Of the 11 school corporations in the Kokomo area, including Sts. Joan of Arc and Patrick, all but three — Northwestern, Taylor and Tri-Central — saw at least a slight increase in the number of students passing the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress exam, according to the Indiana Department of Education.

But don’t expect widespread improvement, locally or statewide, after our children take the ISTEP exam next spring.

In an op-ed we published Monday, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz said the next ISTEP will be based on the state’s new college-and-career-ready standards and not the Common Core State Standards, first championed by Gov. Mitch Daniels but eventually dropped by Gov. Mike Pence just this year.

Ritz explained that for Indiana to retain its waiver from some aspects of the federal No Child Left Behind Act, the state must test students to the new Indiana Academic Standards.

And Ritz said history tells us, both in Indiana and across the U.S., test scores usually “dip as a result of new and more rigorous expectations, giving the appearance of a decline in achievement.”

Ritz assured readers she remains “a proponent for strong teacher and school accountability,” but she has “concerns regarding school and teacher accountability based upon these new assessments.”

She should.

For our money, the real measuring stick for a school or teacher is not the overall passing percentage on the ISTEP exam, but how individual students are performing on the test compared to how they performed a year ago.

It’s good to know that more students passed the test this year than passed it last year in most area schools, but the real measure of success should be whether individual students are making progress.

Those at the top of the scale should be climbing ever higher, and those at the bottom should be inching closer to the passing rate.

The goal of our public education system, after all, is to make certain every student gains the knowledge needed to achieve his or her potential.

Focusing only on ISTEP passing rates can lead educators to concentrate on students near the threshold, pushing as many as possible over the top.

What we need instead is to focus on every student, to make sure that, truly, no child is left behind.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll