Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 18, 2014

House of Burgess: Texas GOP needs therapy

Perry compares homosexuality to alcoholism

On June 11, Texas Gov. Rick Perry addressed the Commonwealth Club of California at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins hotel in San Francisco. During the forum portion of the event, moderator Greg Dalton asked an audience question which strayed from the advertised topic of the discussion, “Energy Independence in America.”

“Do you believe homosexuals can be cured by prayer or counseling?” read Dalton. A smattering of titters in the crowd and an awkward silence on stage followed.

“I don’t know,” said Perry. “I don’t. I’m not a psychiatrist. I’m not a doctor. I’m, um, so…”

“Is it a disorder?” asked Dalton, as a follow-up.

In response, Perry first mentioned his debut 2011 book, “On My Honor: Why the American Values of the Boy Scouts Are Worth Fighting For” before wading into choppier waters.

“I talked about that people make choices in life and whether or not you feel compelled to follow a particular lifestyle or not you have the ability to decide not to do that,” said Perry. “And I made the point [of] talking about alcoholism. I may have the genetic coding that I’m inclined to be an alcoholic, but I have the desire not to do that and I look at the homosexual issue as the same way.”

David R. Baker, San Francisco Chronicle staff writer, was in attendance and noted the palpable unease this statement produced.

“The large crowd gathered … included many Perry supporters,” wrote Baker on Thursday. “But the comment still drew a murmur of disbelief.”

Perry — who has been not-so-secretly gunning for another shot at the Republican presidential nomination — suddenly found himself at the center of a national controversy. He chose to explain himself Monday on CNBC’s “Squawk Box.”

“I have a really high bar for what I would take offense to, but that would exceed the bar for me on being an offensive comment,” Joe Kernan, anchor, told Perry.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll