Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 18, 2014

SEN. COATS: Addressing cyber threats

Congress must take action to protect Americans from online attacks

Over the past several months, we have seen firsthand that threats to our nation’s cyber security are real and growing.

Indiana University announced in February that the names, addresses and Social Security numbers of approximately 146,000 students and recent graduates were potentially exposed due to a cyber security breach. Public universities in Maryland and Virginia have been recent targets of similar attacks.

Hundreds of thousands and potentially millions of Hoosiers were affected by the single greatest corporate hack in American history — the December cyber attacks on Target customers. It is estimated the financial and identity security of 70 million to 110 million Target shoppers was compromised.

AOL’s 120 million users and eBay’s 148 million active accounts were hit in April and May, respectively. Even pioneers of the Internet era are not immune to harm.

Given this ever-growing threat, it is imperative that Congress renew its commitment to cyber security legislation that protects our economy and Indiana businesses. In addition to the deletion or illegal sharing of data, cyber attacks can affect critical infrastructure, like our electric grid or water treatment plants. This is a bipartisan issue that affects all Americans and the future of our country.

After Sept. 11, 2001, we broke down the barriers to information sharing and provided our intelligence and law enforcement professionals with the tools they need to keep us safe. Today, we must break down similar barriers that exist in cyber security to respond to the increasing number of attacks against private companies and the federal government.

Neither industry nor government alone can address this problem. Our nation’s vulnerability requires all stakeholders to work together to develop an enduring solution that removes barriers to information-sharing and protects our critical networks.

I joined with other leaders of the key congressional committees to produce meaningful cyber security legislation. Our bill enhanced information sharing without creating costly layers of government bureaucracy or imposing new regulatory burdens on American businesses. It updated our criminal laws to account for growing cyber threats and enhanced research programs to protect our networks. Most importantly, our initiative struck the right balance between strengthening security and respecting the privacy rights of Americans.

Earlier this year, when appearing before the Senate Intelligence Committee to provide the Intelligence Community’s worldwide threat assessment, James Clapper, the director of national intelligence, placed cyber security at the top of his list of threats, ahead of terrorism.

All Hoosiers and all Americans have a stake in addressing this problem.

Sen. Dan Coats is a Republican from Indiana.

 

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll