Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 29, 2014

LETTERS: 'Call the moving vans;' Congress should launch Iraq probe

‘I will not forgetat voting time!’

I have a suggestion. Since the county commissioners and the county council refuse to listen to the homeowners’ concerns about the wind farms invading their private property and well-being, why don’t we, the opponents, move the commissioners and the council members to the wind farms and let them experience their great tax scheme firsthand?

When political leaders deliberately evade the law and the genuine concerns of the ones who are paying their salaries, then I believe they need to be voted out or removed from office. All in favor, say, “Call the moving vans.”

Do taxpayers realize their tax money will be subsidizing these windmills and also the salaries of those who signed the contract, without public input? Doesn’t make sense to me ... and I will not forget at voting time! How about you?

The irony of this is European countries are scrapping their wind farms! Reason: Companies that constructed the windmills didn’t maintain them as they were contracted to do, therefore they deteriorated. Now they are in the process of removing them because they are a safety hazard, at a cost of thousands of dollars for each windmill. Economically, it was a disaster. That should tell you something!

Jean Grant

Kokomo

Glass-Steagall Act should make return

Roughly 80 or so years ago, Congress passed the Banking Protection Act. Known also as the Glass-Steagall Act of 1933, the act established the FDIC, aka the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp.

In 1999, the Glass-Steagall Act was repealed, all too eagerly in my opinion, by President Clinton through the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act of 1999. It has been said that timing is everything. This is interesting because, following the 1999 repeal, we experienced the infamous financial disaster.

This begs the question: Would a reversal of the Glass-Steagall repeal accomplish anything constructive? To this I say, how could it hurt?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Treasure the life you have I was asked by a reader what my thought on what life is for me in my late years. So here I go with some of my thoughts, but don’t think I am just making them up as I go. Life to me is the time between the day I was born and the day that I am called h

    August 23, 2014

  • Cheers and Jeers Taste of Kokomo accommodationSusie and Andy Castner send this Cheer:“A cheer to Randy Morris, City of Kokomo Park Supt. for accommodating our family for the David Cook concert at Taste of Kokomo. It made it so much easier for our mom to get to seatin

    August 23, 2014

  • State challengesfederal government Recently, some have questioned why the State of Indiana has brought lawsuits against our federal government. While this litigation is adversarial by nature, it is a necessary part of our constitutional process. What distinguishes the U.S. Constitutio

    August 23, 2014

  • Aug. 23: Letters to the Editor Paying for lack of leadershipThe salaries of the Board of County Commissioners and the complete funding of the Local Economic Development Organization, is from taxes paid by the residents of Tipton County. The actions of these two entities are unacce

    August 23, 2014

  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll