Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 30, 2014

BRIAN HOWEY: State Sen. Long's Article V convention and redistricting

Why is Congress dysfunctional? Look in the mirror, senator

If you needed a poster to display the dysfunction in Congress, look no further than the “We Shall Overcome” photo op that took place with congressional leaders on Tuesday. Boehner and Pelosi, Reid and McConnell linked hands and arms and swayed uncomfortably, as they observed the 50th anniversary of the Civil Rights Act. The look in their eyes told a deeper story. The distrust was evident.

That Congress is so polarized and unable to act on critical issues led to what is now called the Assembly of State Legislatures, which met for two days at the Indiana Statehouse earlier this month in an attempt to fire up an Article V Constitutional Convention. Indiana Senate President Pro Tempore David Long is a driving force behind a provision in the U.S. Constitution that allows states to call such a convention. His motivation is an end-around Congress to forge a constitutional balanced budget amendment.

About 100 legislators from 31 states gathered in the House chambers, but only six were Democrats. State Sen. Jim Arnold, D-LaPorte, observed, “This is something the Constitution has afforded us; it’s never been taken advantage of. Let’s think outside the box and look at it. If it doesn’t work out, no harm, no foul. At least the interest is there.”

But one of the reasons Congress is so polarized is due to state legislatures, which in most states draw the congressional maps. If you look at Indiana’s nine districts, drawn by legislative mapmakers (with help from partisan expert cartographers in Washington), you find why Congress is so polarized and unable to function. The Hoosier maps stuff an overwhelming number of Democrats into just two districts, the 1st (+10 on the Cook Partisan Index) and 7th (+13 on the CPI) in The Region and Indianapolis. In one district, the 2nd, you find it competitive with a +6 Republican rating on the CPI. The other six seats are overwhelmingly Republican, with CPI ratings of between +8 and +13.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll