Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

June 30, 2014

DICK WOLFSIE: Strange catalog gifts 2.0

I was only half done making fun of the summer edition of the Hammacher Schlemmer catalog last week when my column ended. Here’s a look at some of my other favorite gift choices.

World’s smallest umbrella: I’m not sure, but I think a lot of folks got the wrong idea about exactly what they were buying. I went to the website where people commented on various products and consumers were saying things like: “This umbrella did not keep me dry”; or “It’s too small”; or “It barely covered my head.” Hey, the description said: The world’s smallest umbrella. What did these people expect?

10-foot-high jumping stilts: For $495 you can purchase a pair of these spring-loaded shoes that propel you 10 feet in the air, allowing you to perform death-defying feats that will land you in the hospital. On the very same page is an ad for “Gentlemen’s Plantar Fasciitis Business Casual Shoes.” Why they didn’t combine the items in one big Buy One, Get One Free deal is beyond me. Don’t these people do any market research?

VW bus tent: This is a tent in the shape of a full-size vintage Volkswagen bus. Now, let’s all try to figure out why a family that’s going camping — folks who love the outdoors — would want other campers to think that their entire clan is sleeping holed up in a 40-year-old bus. Here’s a better idea. Let’s build a Volkswagen bus that looks like a pup tent. That would be a bigger seller.

Solar lounge chair: This lounge chair uses mini solar panels to support a USB port, which can then power your cellphone or iPad. There is a sun-powered misting device and a hydraulic recliner switch. The chair syncs with your Bluetooth, allowing you to listen to audio books. I am not a believer in capital punishment, but I must admit this looks like the most environmentally friendly way to fry someone in an electric chair. By the way, the manufacturer alerts the buyer that it takes four hours to charge the chair. If you have PayPal, it takes about four seconds.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll