Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 7, 2014

BRIAN HOWEY: Evolving Hoosier marriage and equal protection of laws

We project our views through the American experience

The last week of June brought extraordinary images to Indiana. With the stroke of a pen, federal Judge Richard Young struck down the state’s marriage laws passed by overwhelming bipartisan majorities. Within hours, hundreds of gay couples flowed into Hoosier courthouses from Indianapolis, to Nashville, to Washington.

Three days later, a stay was sought by Republican Attorney General Greg Zoeller, and it was issued by the 7th Circuit Court of Appeals in Chicago, leaving many of the newly married Hoosiers in legal limbo.

Several things struck me about these turns of events. First, the hundreds of gay and lesbian couples who flowed into Hoosier courthouses large and small did not do so on a whim. Many of them had been in committed, monogamous relationships for years, if not decades. They were seeking equal protection.

There was an inverse reaction by many, measured by polling over the past three years conducted by my publication, Howey Politics Indiana, to be around 50 percent of the population, who saw an affront. To these Hoosiers, marriage is to be between one man and one woman. The laws were passed by Republicans and Democrats and signed and supported by governors from both parties. They saw “judicial activism” turning over laws enacted by the people’s representatives.

It was the Daviess County Clerk Sherri Healy who found herself confronted by this legal and cultural twist, or the “gray area” as she described it. But then she articulated thoughts that had many Hoosiers nodding in agreement, telling a gay couple seeking a license that “our country was founded on the biblical principle of one man and one woman in marriage, and until I hear otherwise, that is what I will follow.”

Thus, another tormented chapter in the ever-evolving American experience.

State Sen. Mike Delph, a Carmel Republican and big proponent of the marriage laws as well as the constitutional amendment, once handed me a pamphlet entitled “The Constitution of the United States.” On several of the first pages, it quotes George Washington, Daniel Webster, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson and John and Samuel Adams as “Observing the Hand of Providence.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll