Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 8, 2014

Celebrate the summer

This is the time of year when Greentown comes alive. A small, quiet town — except during Friday night football games and whenever the high school marching band is practicing — this eastern Howard County community will reverberate with the sounds of the midway, motorcycle races, truck pulls, a demolition derby and nightly musical acts, including Mike Milligan and Steam Shovel on Friday.

The Howard County 4-H Fair is underway this week, and we encourage you to celebrate summer at one of the state’s largest county fairs.

Used to be, 4-H fairs were about pigs, cows and sows. Today, they’re more about 4-H projects, gardening and arts and crafts.

Today is Kokomo Tribune Day (you won’t want to miss that!). Poultry, beef and dairy judging begins at 9 a.m. Sheep judging gets underway at 5 p.m.

The Texaco Country Showdown returns this year. Sponsored by WWKI-FM, it’s a talent contest for country vocalists, instrumentalists or bands of seven members or fewer. The contest started Monday and will continue the rest of the week at 7:30 p.m in the Pioneer Village.

The contest winner advances to the state competition. On the line at that event is a $1,000 prize and the opportunity to advance to one of five regional finals — the last step to the televised national contest.

A talent show sponsored by Community Howard Regional Health is scheduled for 7 p.m. Wednesday. And live music is planned each night.

There will be a lot to do, see and eat, but take time to support Howard County’s 4-H members, our 5-, 6-, 7- and 8-year-olds in Mini 4-H, the 100 project leaders and the county’s two dozen 4-H clubs.

Howard County’s first 4-H exhibit was held in Kokomo in 1931. The fair moved to Greentown in 1946 and has been there ever since.

We know money is tight, and many here won’t be leaving town for a summer vacation. But consider treating your family to a day at the fair.

4-H’ers always appreciate the interest and support of the Howard County community.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll