Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 15, 2013

Editorial - Aug. 15, 2013: Greater scrutiny for Indiana, Mich. pipeline

The issue: Enbridge Energy’s new pipeline.

Our view: Regulations must be in place to protect our natural resources.

 

You can hardly blame the protesters who last week held up work on Canada-based Enbridge Energy’s new pipeline installation through Cass County for their environmental concerns.

Enbridge is replacing 210 miles of pipeline across southwestern Michigan and northwestern Indiana.

The cleanup of the Kalamazoo River, where the existing Enbridge pipeline burst three years ago, spilling more than 1 million gallons of heavy crude oil, is still not complete. It was the largest inland oil spill in U.S. history. Many are still thinking about the devastation that would have transpired had the contamination not been stopped short of Lake Michigan.

Enbridge has a troublesome track record for maintaining its pipelines, reporting 804 spills between 1999 and 2010, according to the Hoosier Environmental Council. The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration found that the company violated dozens of regulations in connection with the Michigan spill and assessed a $3.7 million penalty. The cost of the cleanup has been estimated at nearly $1 billion.

The infrastructure that failed in Michigan is 45 years old and sections of it would require extensive repairs. State and federal officials made the right decision in agreeing that Enbridge could replace it with new pipe made of stronger steel and double the wall thickness.

It’s difficult to understand, however, why an alternate route wasn’t considered, at least through St. Joseph, LaPorte, Porter and Lake counties, where the line crosses wetlands in the Hudson Lake area and four rivers, all within 20 miles of Lake Michigan.

The project in Indiana will be done in the existing easement or within the 25 feet adjacent to it. It must meet federal safety regulations upgraded after the Michigan spill to mandate automatic shutoff valves and to require that Enbridge report any leak within an hour. Enbridge also has voluntarily agreed to hire an outside consultant to monitor construction and report environmental concerns directly to the Indiana Department of Environmental Management.

Leak-detection technology which is being mandated, however, falls short of the latest advancements. Why, given the sensitivity of the Great Lakes watershed?

Our government exists to protect our common good, including our natural resources. The mood in some political circles favoring less regulation should not prevail at the risk of devastating and enormously expensive consequences.

Enbridge has barrels of money to lobby policymakers. Hoosiers and Michiganders must use their voices and their votes to communicate how they want the pipeline regulated to ensure its safety.

— South Bend Tribune

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll