Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 30, 2012

Cheers & Jeers - Saturday, Dec. 1, 2012

Thank you, Community Foundation

Charleszetta Lewis, executive director of Loving Hands Adult Day Care, sends this Cheer:

“Loving Hands Adult Day Services sends out a big thank-you to the Community Foundation of Howard County. Loving Hands has been awarded a $1,300 grant that will be used to purchase office equipment and accounting software.

“The Community Foundation has been a great supporter over the past few years of Loving Hands.

“Loving Hands is a community day care for family caregivers who are taking care of an adult (who cannot be left alone) and need a safe environment for their loved one during the day. The Foundation’s generosity over the past couple of years has allowed us to continue to serve family caregivers in our community.”

‘An A-plus recommendation’ for service

Grace Freeman of Kokomo sends this Cheer for a local business:

“To the men of Cutting Edge Tree Service, my sincere thanks for the excellent estimate and service you gave my neighbor and me. These men went above and beyond to top and clean up every one of my trees, cleaning my lawn to beautiful condition.

“These men deserve excellent recommendations on all they do to take their job seriously and to please all their customers.

“I would give them an A-plus recommendation, and they are very fair in price!”

‘Thanks, all of you, very much’

Beverly J. Bell of Kokomo sends this Cheer:

“To the Rev. Evan Strong, Rochelle Kinney, Sharon Vaughn, Errin, Crystal, Rita Calloway, Fay Mosley and also to all the office staff in Kokomo and Carmel, you all have shown your kindness and concern to me this past year.

“I can’t begin to thank each and every one. My love and prayers go out for each and every one of you.

“My new help, Shelly the R.N. and Jessica from Careful Care Home Health, I would like to thank.

“My special thanks go to Dr. Carl Kuenzli. He is a top physician in my eyes.

“Thanks, all of you, very much for your care and kindness.”

‘The spirit of helpfulness’

The folks at the Mental Health Association send this Cheer for a Kokomo business and church:

“Mental Health Association would like to thank Eriks Chevrolet Body Shop and Tom Rethlake for assisting us in keeping the MHA van running so we can continue to pick up and deliver donations and transport clients. The guys were great to work with and very considerate of our need and speed to get the vehicle on the road again.

“Also a blessing and gratefulness goes to Center Road Church of Christ for hosting our annual Thanksgiving Day Dinner for Social Club participants, such as Howard Haven, Bona Vista Group Homes, Community Howard Group Homes and those of independent living.

“Rusty Maynard and all his volunteers, especially their youth group, cooked, served and cleaned the church dining area to grace over 200 consumers plus staff.

“Bless all these people who help keep the spirit of helpfulness in this community alive and well.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll