Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 30, 2012

Cheers & Jeers - Saturday, Dec. 1, 2012

Thank you, Community Foundation

Charleszetta Lewis, executive director of Loving Hands Adult Day Care, sends this Cheer:

“Loving Hands Adult Day Services sends out a big thank-you to the Community Foundation of Howard County. Loving Hands has been awarded a $1,300 grant that will be used to purchase office equipment and accounting software.

“The Community Foundation has been a great supporter over the past few years of Loving Hands.

“Loving Hands is a community day care for family caregivers who are taking care of an adult (who cannot be left alone) and need a safe environment for their loved one during the day. The Foundation’s generosity over the past couple of years has allowed us to continue to serve family caregivers in our community.”

‘An A-plus recommendation’ for service

Grace Freeman of Kokomo sends this Cheer for a local business:

“To the men of Cutting Edge Tree Service, my sincere thanks for the excellent estimate and service you gave my neighbor and me. These men went above and beyond to top and clean up every one of my trees, cleaning my lawn to beautiful condition.

“These men deserve excellent recommendations on all they do to take their job seriously and to please all their customers.

“I would give them an A-plus recommendation, and they are very fair in price!”

‘Thanks, all of you, very much’

Beverly J. Bell of Kokomo sends this Cheer:

“To the Rev. Evan Strong, Rochelle Kinney, Sharon Vaughn, Errin, Crystal, Rita Calloway, Fay Mosley and also to all the office staff in Kokomo and Carmel, you all have shown your kindness and concern to me this past year.

“I can’t begin to thank each and every one. My love and prayers go out for each and every one of you.

“My new help, Shelly the R.N. and Jessica from Careful Care Home Health, I would like to thank.

“My special thanks go to Dr. Carl Kuenzli. He is a top physician in my eyes.

“Thanks, all of you, very much for your care and kindness.”

‘The spirit of helpfulness’

The folks at the Mental Health Association send this Cheer for a Kokomo business and church:

“Mental Health Association would like to thank Eriks Chevrolet Body Shop and Tom Rethlake for assisting us in keeping the MHA van running so we can continue to pick up and deliver donations and transport clients. The guys were great to work with and very considerate of our need and speed to get the vehicle on the road again.

“Also a blessing and gratefulness goes to Center Road Church of Christ for hosting our annual Thanksgiving Day Dinner for Social Club participants, such as Howard Haven, Bona Vista Group Homes, Community Howard Group Homes and those of independent living.

“Rusty Maynard and all his volunteers, especially their youth group, cooked, served and cleaned the church dining area to grace over 200 consumers plus staff.

“Bless all these people who help keep the spirit of helpfulness in this community alive and well.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll