Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

December 12, 2012

Celebration of humanity

THE ISSUE: The iroK Foundation fundraiser Saturday.

OUR VIEW: By some cupcakes. Make a donation. Help the Maconaquah freshman help families of children at Carmel’s Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health North and the Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital hematology and oncology clinics.

Eleven million TV viewers watched the season premiere of “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition” two years ago. So quite a few Americans got a glimpse of the giving nature of the people of the Kokomo area in January 2010.

At 8 p.m. on a Sunday evening, “Extreme Makeover” broadcast the construction of the Cowan-Brown family home. Hundreds of volunteers, led by Anderson-based Hallmark Homes, spent almost a week working shifts upward of 20 hours to finish the house on schedule for the Miami County family. Some slept in mud between shifts.

Around here, people sometimes need the help of others. Sometimes, people are in a position to offer it.

Beginning at age 6, Kori Brown – one of Andy and Heather Cowan’s four children – needed help. She was diagnosed with a blood disorder affecting her immune system. While at Riley Hospital for Children in Indianapolis, she befriended Alyssa Lewandowski of Noblesville. Alyssa was receiving treatment for leukemia.

Kori began raising money to help her friend. She started “Kori’s Cards for a Cure” in 2006, and got children to make greeting cards to sell for the American Cancer Society. She helped auction items for her Relay for Life team in 2007.

Today, the Maconaquah freshman runs the iroK Foundation. It helps families of children who are patients at Carmel’s Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health North and the Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital hematology and oncology clinics with expenses related to their illnesses that are not covered by insurance.

To date, iroK has helped 22 Indiana families.

On Saturday, iroK will host its second “iroK the Holidays” fundraiser at Celebrations Banquet Hall, 3437 W. Sycamore Road. Judging for the first “iroK Cupcake War” will be at noon Saturday, and there will be cupcakes for sale. A silent auction will be at 1 p.m., and Barker’s B&K hot dogs will be available for lunch.

There is still room for cupcake makers and vendors for Saturday’s iroK event, so contact Kori’s mom, Heather, at cowanmheather@aol.com for forms or with questions.

If your family is looking for something to do Saturday, consider stopping by the iroK fundraiser at Celebrations. Buy some cupcakes. Make a donation.

Celebrate the humanity of our community with Kori Brown.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll