Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 12, 2012

Celebration of humanity

THE ISSUE: The iroK Foundation fundraiser Saturday.

OUR VIEW: By some cupcakes. Make a donation. Help the Maconaquah freshman help families of children at Carmel’s Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health North and the Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital hematology and oncology clinics.

Eleven million TV viewers watched the season premiere of “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition” two years ago. So quite a few Americans got a glimpse of the giving nature of the people of the Kokomo area in January 2010.

At 8 p.m. on a Sunday evening, “Extreme Makeover” broadcast the construction of the Cowan-Brown family home. Hundreds of volunteers, led by Anderson-based Hallmark Homes, spent almost a week working shifts upward of 20 hours to finish the house on schedule for the Miami County family. Some slept in mud between shifts.

Around here, people sometimes need the help of others. Sometimes, people are in a position to offer it.

Beginning at age 6, Kori Brown – one of Andy and Heather Cowan’s four children – needed help. She was diagnosed with a blood disorder affecting her immune system. While at Riley Hospital for Children in Indianapolis, she befriended Alyssa Lewandowski of Noblesville. Alyssa was receiving treatment for leukemia.

Kori began raising money to help her friend. She started “Kori’s Cards for a Cure” in 2006, and got children to make greeting cards to sell for the American Cancer Society. She helped auction items for her Relay for Life team in 2007.

Today, the Maconaquah freshman runs the iroK Foundation. It helps families of children who are patients at Carmel’s Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health North and the Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital hematology and oncology clinics with expenses related to their illnesses that are not covered by insurance.

To date, iroK has helped 22 Indiana families.

On Saturday, iroK will host its second “iroK the Holidays” fundraiser at Celebrations Banquet Hall, 3437 W. Sycamore Road. Judging for the first “iroK Cupcake War” will be at noon Saturday, and there will be cupcakes for sale. A silent auction will be at 1 p.m., and Barker’s B&K hot dogs will be available for lunch.

There is still room for cupcake makers and vendors for Saturday’s iroK event, so contact Kori’s mom, Heather, at cowanmheather@aol.com for forms or with questions.

If your family is looking for something to do Saturday, consider stopping by the iroK fundraiser at Celebrations. Buy some cupcakes. Make a donation.

Celebrate the humanity of our community with Kori Brown.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll