Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 17, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 17, 2012

Let’s study effects of turbines first

As a rural homeowner (not a city person) who was invited to live in beautiful Tipton County by a farmer with their creation of our small residential area, I don’t believe it is about telling farmers what they can do with their land. It is about ensuring the safety and well-being of all who would be living near the industrial turbines and to ensure that any economic boost to the area does not come at the stark expense of rural homeowners who have their life savings invested in their homes.

I am not against wind turbines as a whole when properly sized and located, and the citizenry properly protected. And as an academic librarian, I am well-versed in information evaluation. I understand the difference between research funded by the wind industry and peer-reviewed research done by independent academics in the last two years such as “Values in the Wind” (Heintzelman, Tuttle 2012) which determined “that nearby wind facilities significantly reduce property values in two of the three counties studied” over a nine-year period in New York. And Havas and Colling in their work, “Wind Turbines Make Waves: Why Some Residents Near Wind Turbines Become Ill” (2011), who determined there is indeed a negative effect for some residents due to noise, infrasound and poor power quality.

This is a rapidly evolving area of research, and as Rob Rupe, Sharpsville council member stated, let’s be sure we understand all the implications before making this 20-year commitment that irrevocably changes the lives of both farm residents and rural homeowners.

While the commissioners and planning commission have worked hard, new information in this field makes it prudent to take this opportunity to reconsider. I urge the Tipton City Council to table the tax abatement and give the citizens of Tipton County further opportunity to review and understand the long-term effects of this decision and to update the protective ordinance.

And I also urge the newly- mindful residents to assist in resolving funding issues for our schools. I know I plan to.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership' On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than

    April 16, 2014

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge US Supports Ukraine's Efforts to Calm Tensions Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' After Attack, Officials Kill 5 Bears in Florida Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll