Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

March 22, 2014

Cheers & Jeers: March 22, 2014

Acacia fundraiser blossomed

Development Director Lori Tate of Acacia Academy sends out this cheer to those who helped make their Art in Bloom fundraising event a success.

“On March 8, the 5th annual Art in Bloom at Acacia Academy was a special evening filled with spring flowers, colorful kites and student art projects. Over 150 guests were treated to a brilliant variety of live musical entertainment, a delicious dinner, a lively auction and beautiful art projects produced and presented by our students. The total harvested during the evening provided more than $27,000 for student scholarships.

These local sponsors graciously donated seed money to underwrite the event: Community First Bank, Creative Financial Designs, Crume Evans Insurance, Eye Physicians, First Farmers Bank and Trust, Granny’s Furniture, Hayes Advisory Group, H.E McGonigal/Button Dodge, Hoosier AM/FM WZWZ/WIOU/WMYK, Kathryn Jones, DDS, Christina Lorentson, Dr. Willis Peele, Solidarity Community FCU, William and Sharon Bassett, David and Sara Sullivan and Dr. Tanko. Founding partners that continue to nurture Acacia Academy are St. Vincent St. Joseph Hospital and First Evangelical Presbyterian Church.

Sweet fragrances delighted the senses, through the generosity of in-kind donations of appetizers from Main Street Café and desserts from J. Edwards Chocolates, Cakes and Gifts. Generous businesses, individuals and Acacia students provided over 90 auction items to enhance the bouquet. Auctioneer Brett Rinehart was the gardener that masterfully guided each art project and bid to its best showing.

A successful event involves a dedicated team of volunteers and staff as planners and planters. Much thanks to the Marketing Chair — Chris Fairchild; Decorating Chair, Event Artwork and Students Projects Chair – Jo Ann Davis; Set-up and Clean-up Chairs – Mark Jones and Jay Walters; Food, Beverage and Server Chair – Shirley Davis; Auction Donation Chair – Deb Walters; Student Activity Chair – Tammy Freeman and their committee members who worked the soil tirelessly to ensure each part of the blossom developed to its full potential. And many thanks to Bob and Betsy Hoshaw, Laura Swartzendruber and Ruth Maxson for lending their talents, resources and many hours to the students’ art projects. Special thanks to Main Street United Methodist Church for providing the facility for the event and for the school. Finally, thank you to Acacia Academy students and alumni who served the meal, assisted in the project store, entertained, and presented live auction projects.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll