Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 22, 2014

Cheers & Jeers: March 22, 2014

(Continued)

 

Business deserves recognition

Roxann Edwards sends out a cheer to Kokomo Metal Fabricators for their service and generosity:

“Kokomo Metal Fabricators has helped us out numerous times welding our kitchen chairs so that we did not have to buy new ones.

They always charged very little, but the last time we had a chair welded, the owner suggested instead of paying him we should be especially generous to our hard working server the next time we ate out.

We feel that this was such a nice thing for him to say and we followed through on our promise to him. When you find a business person who is really caring about others we feel they should receive recognition.”

 

Science fair at IU Kokomo a success

Emily Bargerhuff sends out this cheer to everyone who helped with this year’s Howard County Science Fair:

“The 50th annual Howard County Science Fair was held at IU Kokomo on Feb. 15. Students, teachers, parents, judges, benefactors, and everyone else who was involved should be commended for the difference they helped make in the lives of the students who participated.

There were 21 Senior Division exhibits and 69 students in the Junior Division from elementary and middle schools throughout Howard County. Volunteer judges listened to each student explain the logical, cognitive, scientific theory they used to guide them through their projects as they proved or disproved their original theories.

Hopefully, this feedback helped the students prepare for future science fairs (regional, state, and international).

Due to the generosity of the sponsors, $4,400 was awarded in prize money to the top 10 junior and top 10 senior division winners. A big thank you to the sponsors: Haynes International, Inc., Janet and Mark Comerford, Bucheri McCarty & Metz LLP Certified Public Accountants, Erik’s Chevrolet, Inc., Newlon Metals, Inc., Rotary Club of Kokomo, Stan and Jody Ortman, The Windmill Grill, The Wyman Group, Charles and Sandy Sponaugle, Emily Bargerhuff, Bob and Marcia Gillette, IU Kokomo Chancellor, Sue Sciame-Giesecke, IU Kokomo School of Sciences faculty, staff, and students, and the IU Kokomo Physical Plant staff.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll