Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 18, 2013

July 18, 2013: Letters to the editor

Federal subsidies:What doctor ordered

There is a lot of information available on the health issues related to wind turbines. The Tipton County Wind Farm Communications Committee has identified the “Nocebo Effect” as the root cause of Wind Turbine Syndrome. This pro-wind turbine group apparently has a built in immunity to this communicable disease.

The immunity must be a result of years of federal farm subsidies. And there is little chance they will contract the disease now or in the future, because they will receive annual booster shots known as lease payments.

I am not sure that giving subsidy-exempt citizens in Tipton County annual $10,000 payments to cure the Wind Turbine Syndrome will actually work, but why not give it a try? Maybe it’s too late already, or maybe new, bigger turbines will create a newer incurrable health condition.

Perhaps one of the wind energy companies can give money to a government-subsidized university to pay for a study, thereby giving the Nocebo Effect some credibility.

Next there is a firsthand report that riding in a rental car will make wind farm residents immune to shadow flicker and vibrations caused by wind turbines. I am not sure if just sitting in a rental car near a wind farm will relieve the symptoms or whether you have to travel on an interstate highway at 65 mph with the windows down to relieve the symptoms. The rental car companies might be interested in making additional payments for credible studies.

If rental cars do indeed cure Wind Turbine Syndrome, this will mean increased rental car profits — a win-win situation for them. And if the Wind Farm Communications Committee gives credibility to the study, it will probably create mass hysteria and traffic jams on Interstate 65.

But wait a minute — wasn’t the Tipton County Citizens for Responsible Development accused by the Citizens Action Coalition of being a part of Big Oil’s plot to discredit wind turbines? Seems to me Big Oil would want to help with the wind turbine health studies to put more rental cars on the road. Again, a win-win for Big Oil.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll