Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 20, 2013

July 20, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

‘The hands and feet of Christ’

Van Taylor, executive director of the Kokomo Rescue Mission, sends this Cheer for Delphi Automotive Corp. and its employees:

“Sunshine and warm weather were a welcome sight for the 25 Delphi Corp. volunteers who helped at the Kokomo Rescue Mission for another successful ‘Delphi Gives Back Day’ on June 21. Their combined effort moved 2.7 tons of lava rock and three large shrubs, trimmed bushes and trees, planted five flats of flowers, used 2 gallons of stain to refinish a fence, and spread a total of 6 gallons of paint to restripe several parking areas and re-paint the front of a warehouse.

“Delphi employees and family members worked late into the afternoon at the several Kokomo Rescue Mission buildings to be the hands and feet of Christ as they gave of themselves.

“The KRM staff and guests would like to sincerely thank each person who volunteered their time, skills and energy to beautify, refurbish and revamp these locations. We are fortunate to live in a caring community where companies and individuals truly believe in helping each other and are genuinely concerned about the plight of those less fortunate. We are genuinely blessed!

“To the volunteers, thank you for sacrificing your time to help the Mission continue to provide a comfortable and welcoming place for those in the community who may need a safe place to stay or a hot meal. Your work helps ensure there is a safe haven for those in desperate need. Thank you again for your compassion and empathy that moved you to action. We are grateful for your service!”

Ales for Tails raises $37,000

Jean L. McGroarty, executive director of the Kokomo Humane Society, sends this Cheer to the community:

“The Kokomo Humane Society’s eighth annual Ales for Tails fundraiser, a sampling of craft beers and great food, was held June 12, 2012, at PASTArrific’s Casa Bella banquet room. Though the weather was hot, the atmosphere was festive and fun, and the support of our shelter friends was overwhelming. Thanks to the generosity of this fantastic community, we raised almost $37,000 for our community outreach, education and adoption promotion efforts.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll