Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 20, 2013

July 20, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

‘The hands and feet of Christ’

Van Taylor, executive director of the Kokomo Rescue Mission, sends this Cheer for Delphi Automotive Corp. and its employees:

“Sunshine and warm weather were a welcome sight for the 25 Delphi Corp. volunteers who helped at the Kokomo Rescue Mission for another successful ‘Delphi Gives Back Day’ on June 21. Their combined effort moved 2.7 tons of lava rock and three large shrubs, trimmed bushes and trees, planted five flats of flowers, used 2 gallons of stain to refinish a fence, and spread a total of 6 gallons of paint to restripe several parking areas and re-paint the front of a warehouse.

“Delphi employees and family members worked late into the afternoon at the several Kokomo Rescue Mission buildings to be the hands and feet of Christ as they gave of themselves.

“The KRM staff and guests would like to sincerely thank each person who volunteered their time, skills and energy to beautify, refurbish and revamp these locations. We are fortunate to live in a caring community where companies and individuals truly believe in helping each other and are genuinely concerned about the plight of those less fortunate. We are genuinely blessed!

“To the volunteers, thank you for sacrificing your time to help the Mission continue to provide a comfortable and welcoming place for those in the community who may need a safe place to stay or a hot meal. Your work helps ensure there is a safe haven for those in desperate need. Thank you again for your compassion and empathy that moved you to action. We are grateful for your service!”

Ales for Tails raises $37,000

Jean L. McGroarty, executive director of the Kokomo Humane Society, sends this Cheer to the community:

“The Kokomo Humane Society’s eighth annual Ales for Tails fundraiser, a sampling of craft beers and great food, was held June 12, 2012, at PASTArrific’s Casa Bella banquet room. Though the weather was hot, the atmosphere was festive and fun, and the support of our shelter friends was overwhelming. Thanks to the generosity of this fantastic community, we raised almost $37,000 for our community outreach, education and adoption promotion efforts.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll