Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 20, 2013

July 20, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

(Continued)

“Thanks to the many sponsors, donors and participants who helped make the Tipton County Citizens for Responsible Development golf outing on June 22 at Chippendale Golf Course a success.

“Through your generosity, we raised $6,200, which will go toward legal fees and other costs associated with our efforts to protect residents of Tipton County and the surrounding area from industrial wind turbines.

“Special thanks go to Vickie Starbuck, Juanita Thomas and Beth Juliot for organizing a fun day with great food, prizes and competition.

“Thanks to the many businesses that sponsored this event, including Burnett’s Service Center, The Gyro Place, Eriks Chevrolet, Cone Palace, Western & Southern Life, Fast Lane Foods, A-Team Realty, Rossi’s Snow Removal, Triple Nickle Inc. and All Star Staffing.

“Also, thanks to Howard Print Shop, Dental Care — Kathryn Jones DDS, Real Image, Mortgage City Inc., Best Property Marketing, Allstate — Don Davis, The Hardie Group — Deb Hearn, Hague Water, Norris Insurance, Rabb Water and Benches & Tables — Fred McCorkle.

“Thanks also to Midas, Burns Auto Care, Jiffy Lube, C&S Meats, Country Choice, Northeast Animal Clinic, Lowe’s, Don Pancho’s, Pet Supply Plus, Gabe’s Pizza, Whiskey Creek, Drake’s, Rural King, Texas Roadhouse, Walmart and Meijer.

“Also, thanks to Grindstone Charley’s, O’Reilly’s, Pepperwhistle, MC Sports, Waffle House, Hayes Advisory Group, Golden Corral, IHOP, Kokomo Raceway Park, Fazoli’s, Planet Fitness, Artic White, Barker’s B&K, Noble Romans, Colescott’s Mobil 1 Lube Express, Arby’s and Prairie Acres subdivision.

“A big thank-you goes to the dozens of individuals and families who supported this event as well. The outpouring of support from everyone is truly appreciated.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll