Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 25, 2013

July 25, 2013: Letters to the editor

Leaseholder’s letter made assumptions

Based on a recent letter, it appears that turbine leaseholders continue to distort the facts and spread malicious propaganda. Many of the author’s arguments are invalid.

Opponents showed up “at the 11th hour” because leaseholders obtained secretive, undisclosed agreements with E.ON and juwi in 2008 and 2009. And most residents, including Tipton County Citizens for Responsible Development (CRD), had no knowledge of juwi’s wind project until late December 2012 and early 2013.

The assertion that there are hundreds of leaseholders in Tipton County is totally invalid, too. I would challenge the author to provide evidence of the number of leaseholders.

Also, knowledgeable people are offended by statements that indicate clean wind energy is good for Tipton County. Local residents receive no discount on their electric bills. Citizens suffer from breathing road quartz dust. Multipath and electromagnetic signal interference cause disruptions to television, Internet and cellphone reception.

The safety issues include fire, weather and medical emergencies. The loss of birds and bats is well-documented. Crop dusting is essentially unavailable in wind farms.

The number of complaints against E.ON in the Windfall Wildcat Wind Farm is well over 150 and climbing. The only good appears to be the money the small number of leaseholders will receive, but everything else is just collateral damage.

At the last Comprehensive Plan meeting in Tipton, many wind farm opponents were from the Chippendale subdivision. This subdivision contains 154 homes and more than 600 residents. These people have every right to attend any and all Tipton County meetings because they are or will be in the footprint of a Tipton County wind farm. Many Chippendale people in Howard County received registered letters dated Feb. 14, 2013, from the wind farm lawyers, Bingham, Greenebaum, and Doll.

Probably, the author of the earlier article didn’t receive the same letter because she won’t be living in the footprint of a wind farm. She is just a leaseholder living outside of Tipton County.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll