Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 25, 2013

July 25, 2013: Letters to the editor

Leaseholder’s letter made assumptions

Based on a recent letter, it appears that turbine leaseholders continue to distort the facts and spread malicious propaganda. Many of the author’s arguments are invalid.

Opponents showed up “at the 11th hour” because leaseholders obtained secretive, undisclosed agreements with E.ON and juwi in 2008 and 2009. And most residents, including Tipton County Citizens for Responsible Development (CRD), had no knowledge of juwi’s wind project until late December 2012 and early 2013.

The assertion that there are hundreds of leaseholders in Tipton County is totally invalid, too. I would challenge the author to provide evidence of the number of leaseholders.

Also, knowledgeable people are offended by statements that indicate clean wind energy is good for Tipton County. Local residents receive no discount on their electric bills. Citizens suffer from breathing road quartz dust. Multipath and electromagnetic signal interference cause disruptions to television, Internet and cellphone reception.

The safety issues include fire, weather and medical emergencies. The loss of birds and bats is well-documented. Crop dusting is essentially unavailable in wind farms.

The number of complaints against E.ON in the Windfall Wildcat Wind Farm is well over 150 and climbing. The only good appears to be the money the small number of leaseholders will receive, but everything else is just collateral damage.

At the last Comprehensive Plan meeting in Tipton, many wind farm opponents were from the Chippendale subdivision. This subdivision contains 154 homes and more than 600 residents. These people have every right to attend any and all Tipton County meetings because they are or will be in the footprint of a Tipton County wind farm. Many Chippendale people in Howard County received registered letters dated Feb. 14, 2013, from the wind farm lawyers, Bingham, Greenebaum, and Doll.

Probably, the author of the earlier article didn’t receive the same letter because she won’t be living in the footprint of a wind farm. She is just a leaseholder living outside of Tipton County.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Treasure the life you have I was asked by a reader what my thought on what life is for me in my late years. So here I go with some of my thoughts, but don’t think I am just making them up as I go. Life to me is the time between the day I was born and the day that I am called h

    August 23, 2014

  • Cheers and Jeers Taste of Kokomo accommodationSusie and Andy Castner send this Cheer:“A cheer to Randy Morris, City of Kokomo Park Supt. for accommodating our family for the David Cook concert at Taste of Kokomo. It made it so much easier for our mom to get to seatin

    August 23, 2014

  • State challengesfederal government Recently, some have questioned why the State of Indiana has brought lawsuits against our federal government. While this litigation is adversarial by nature, it is a necessary part of our constitutional process. What distinguishes the U.S. Constitutio

    August 23, 2014

  • Aug. 23: Letters to the Editor Paying for lack of leadershipThe salaries of the Board of County Commissioners and the complete funding of the Local Economic Development Organization, is from taxes paid by the residents of Tipton County. The actions of these two entities are unacce

    August 23, 2014

  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll