Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 27, 2013

July 27, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

20,000 attend Haynes Apperson Festival

Paul Wyman, Haynes Apperson Festival chairman, sends this Cheer:

“First, let me thank our community once again for coming out and celebrating all that is good about Kokomo and Howard County at this year’s Haynes Apperson Festival. It just keeps getting better, thanks to all of you!

“Foster Park was a great venue to celebrate! We saw about 20,000 people over the three days of the event, and it was especially great to see so many travel to our community from around the region and the country. We had someone from London to see Night Ranger!

“I know we made a lasting impression on all our visitors! Our Convention and Visitors Bureau played a big role in attracting people from other communities. Thank you!

“Let me thank our board of directors and all of our volunteers for their tireless commitment to making our festival one of the premier festivals in the state. Your hard work has made our festival a ‘must attend’ on people’s to-do list for the summer. Thanks for your year-round commitment to making it great! Thanks to Angie Roe and the parade staff for an outstanding parade, and thank you, Dana Neer, for leading another huge HA Sports Festival.

“To our community partners, the Pioneer Club, the Car Coalition and our Automotive Museum, thanks for being such a huge part of helping us preserve our automotive heritage. We have so much to be thankful for, and the car shows and cruise-ins were awesome!

“Our community partners like Haynes International, NIPSCO, CVB, Howard County Recycling, Indiana American Water, St. Joseph Hospital, Community First Bank, Duke Energy, Don Rogers Family Dentistry, AAction Promotions, Hodsons, Social Experience, Master Creations, Coca-Cola, Indiana Heartland, New Car Dealers Association, First Farmers, Hoover and Wells, Eriks Chervolet, Top of the Line, Half Moon, Courtyard by Marriott, Comfort Inn, Golden Corral, Huston Electric, Kokomo Perspective, Kokomo Tribune, Kokomo Herald, Z92FIVE, Shine 99, WIOU-AM, Rock 98.5 and WWKI, we thank you!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll