Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 27, 2013

July 27, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

20,000 attend Haynes Apperson Festival

Paul Wyman, Haynes Apperson Festival chairman, sends this Cheer:

“First, let me thank our community once again for coming out and celebrating all that is good about Kokomo and Howard County at this year’s Haynes Apperson Festival. It just keeps getting better, thanks to all of you!

“Foster Park was a great venue to celebrate! We saw about 20,000 people over the three days of the event, and it was especially great to see so many travel to our community from around the region and the country. We had someone from London to see Night Ranger!

“I know we made a lasting impression on all our visitors! Our Convention and Visitors Bureau played a big role in attracting people from other communities. Thank you!

“Let me thank our board of directors and all of our volunteers for their tireless commitment to making our festival one of the premier festivals in the state. Your hard work has made our festival a ‘must attend’ on people’s to-do list for the summer. Thanks for your year-round commitment to making it great! Thanks to Angie Roe and the parade staff for an outstanding parade, and thank you, Dana Neer, for leading another huge HA Sports Festival.

“To our community partners, the Pioneer Club, the Car Coalition and our Automotive Museum, thanks for being such a huge part of helping us preserve our automotive heritage. We have so much to be thankful for, and the car shows and cruise-ins were awesome!

“Our community partners like Haynes International, NIPSCO, CVB, Howard County Recycling, Indiana American Water, St. Joseph Hospital, Community First Bank, Duke Energy, Don Rogers Family Dentistry, AAction Promotions, Hodsons, Social Experience, Master Creations, Coca-Cola, Indiana Heartland, New Car Dealers Association, First Farmers, Hoover and Wells, Eriks Chervolet, Top of the Line, Half Moon, Courtyard by Marriott, Comfort Inn, Golden Corral, Huston Electric, Kokomo Perspective, Kokomo Tribune, Kokomo Herald, Z92FIVE, Shine 99, WIOU-AM, Rock 98.5 and WWKI, we thank you!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Treasure the life you have I was asked by a reader what my thought on what life is for me in my late years. So here I go with some of my thoughts, but don’t think I am just making them up as I go. Life to me is the time between the day I was born and the day that I am called h

    August 23, 2014

  • Cheers and Jeers Taste of Kokomo accommodationSusie and Andy Castner send this Cheer:“A cheer to Randy Morris, City of Kokomo Park Supt. for accommodating our family for the David Cook concert at Taste of Kokomo. It made it so much easier for our mom to get to seatin

    August 23, 2014

  • State challengesfederal government Recently, some have questioned why the State of Indiana has brought lawsuits against our federal government. While this litigation is adversarial by nature, it is a necessary part of our constitutional process. What distinguishes the U.S. Constitutio

    August 23, 2014

  • Aug. 23: Letters to the Editor Paying for lack of leadershipThe salaries of the Board of County Commissioners and the complete funding of the Local Economic Development Organization, is from taxes paid by the residents of Tipton County. The actions of these two entities are unacce

    August 23, 2014

  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll