Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 27, 2013

July 27, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

20,000 attend Haynes Apperson Festival

Paul Wyman, Haynes Apperson Festival chairman, sends this Cheer:

“First, let me thank our community once again for coming out and celebrating all that is good about Kokomo and Howard County at this year’s Haynes Apperson Festival. It just keeps getting better, thanks to all of you!

“Foster Park was a great venue to celebrate! We saw about 20,000 people over the three days of the event, and it was especially great to see so many travel to our community from around the region and the country. We had someone from London to see Night Ranger!

“I know we made a lasting impression on all our visitors! Our Convention and Visitors Bureau played a big role in attracting people from other communities. Thank you!

“Let me thank our board of directors and all of our volunteers for their tireless commitment to making our festival one of the premier festivals in the state. Your hard work has made our festival a ‘must attend’ on people’s to-do list for the summer. Thanks for your year-round commitment to making it great! Thanks to Angie Roe and the parade staff for an outstanding parade, and thank you, Dana Neer, for leading another huge HA Sports Festival.

“To our community partners, the Pioneer Club, the Car Coalition and our Automotive Museum, thanks for being such a huge part of helping us preserve our automotive heritage. We have so much to be thankful for, and the car shows and cruise-ins were awesome!

“Our community partners like Haynes International, NIPSCO, CVB, Howard County Recycling, Indiana American Water, St. Joseph Hospital, Community First Bank, Duke Energy, Don Rogers Family Dentistry, AAction Promotions, Hodsons, Social Experience, Master Creations, Coca-Cola, Indiana Heartland, New Car Dealers Association, First Farmers, Hoover and Wells, Eriks Chervolet, Top of the Line, Half Moon, Courtyard by Marriott, Comfort Inn, Golden Corral, Huston Electric, Kokomo Perspective, Kokomo Tribune, Kokomo Herald, Z92FIVE, Shine 99, WIOU-AM, Rock 98.5 and WWKI, we thank you!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Chewing over news in bite-size vignettes Today, I am going to share a few "opinionettes" about current news items. Ready? Let's go! City prosperity The unemployment rate in the United States is down to 6.7 percent. This is its lowest level since October 2008. When I remember government effo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll