Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

June 8, 2013

July 8, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Toddler tested and approved

William D. Flack of Galveston sends this Cheer for a local pharmacist:

“Carl Klearwater and his staff at Herbst Compounding Pharmacy on North Dixon Road are truly customer-oriented and willing to go the extra mile.

“When my 3-year-old granddaughter was not able to take a prescribed medication that I can personally attest tasted absolutely awful (with a capital A), I went straight to talk to Carl.

“He immediately accepted the challenge of finding a way to flavor this medication to make the taste tolerable to a toddler. Comparing notes, conversing with other pharmacists, and working late past his normal business hours, Carl came up with a flavored medication that seemed to work.

“The very next day his flavored med passed the toddler test with flying colors. He told me if it didn’t work to let him know and he would try something else.

“Carl had immediate empathy for the baby and her parents and willingly took on the flavoring challenge with his usual gusto. Thank you so much, Carl.”

‘Definitely a community center’

Betty Simpson and Jenny Alley, senior center board members, send this Cheer:

“We would like to send a big thank-you to Primrose Retirement Center for its generous hospitality.

“By chance we were talking with Linda Yoder, activities director, about the flooded senior center, and she immediately said, ‘What do you need?’ We said, a place to play cards on Tuesday evening.

“That’s all it took. She has been there for us ever since, with anything we need — even a room to watch movies once a week.

“We feel blessed to have a place like Primrose helping us. It is definitely a community center.”

‘Kokomo, a truly special place’

Ron and Pam Barsh and the Downing family send this Cheer:

“On behalf of our family on the loss of our daughter, Kristy Downing, we would like to thank the community, family and friends for all of your support with prayers, cards, gifts, donations, food and visits.

“You will always be special in our lives and are really Kristy’s extended family. We will never forget what you have done and will always cherish your kindness and generosity.

“When the great John Wooden was asked why he taught, he replied, ‘Where could I find more splendid company?’

“We could never have found more splendid company than Kokomo, a truly special place where we have resided for more than 43 years.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll