Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

June 8, 2013

July 8, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

(Continued)

‘Dedication above and beyond’

Jim Bennett sends this Cheer for Cracker Barrel:

“Near the first of May, I went to the Cracker Barrel to find a double-wide rocking chair to match the one my wife now enjoys. I explained to the girls there that I wanted to find one for our daughters to give their mother for Mother’s Day. I was told at the time they would call their supplier to see if they could get one in time for Mother’s Day delivery.

“On Monday, April 29, Audrey called from Cracker Barrel to say the factory could not promise delivery in time, but she had found one at a Cracker Barrel in Illinois and she would go there to pick it up that evening so we could have it in time.

“Now that is what I call ‘dedication above and beyond the job’s duties.’

“A big thank-you to all of the girls, and one guy also, for putting tears of joy in the eyes of our daughters’ mother on Mother’s Day morning.”

‘Call Mike first!’

Linda Moorman sends this Cheer for a local business:

“I’d like to send a Cheer to Mike Wyant and Mike’s Sewer Services.

“We were experiencing problems with our tub draining. After calling a local company and having its serviceman try for a couple of hours to open the drain, we were charged more than $100 and had standing water in the tub, which we didn’t have before he tried to clear the drain.

“We called Mike Wyant of Mike’s Sewer Services. He had it opened in less than 15 minutes and charged us less than the previous company. We would recommend that anyone having a drainage problem call Mike first!”

A common-sense law

Lora Miller of Clermont sends this Cheer for state government:

“A warm thank-you to Gov. Mike Pence and our state Legislature for passing a bill that goes after methamphetamine without restricting my access to cold and allergy medicines containing pseudoephedrine (PSE).

“Two weeks ago, Gov. Pence signed S.B. 496 into law. This is a bill that represents a step in the right direction in Indiana’s fight against meth. It provides reasonable limits for the amount of PSE an individual can purchase while maintaining open and affordable access to cold and allergy medicines for law-abiding consumers.

“As an allergy sufferer, I find this last part particularly important.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll