Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

March 26, 2013

Editorial - March 26, 2013: Glory days discussion

The issue: The IHSAA boys multi-class basketball tournament, which crowned four state champions over the weekend.

Our view: The 1950s and ’60s — when everyone turned out for the high school basketball game on Friday night — are gone forever. It’s time we embrace multi-class basketball and move on.

For generations, Hoosiers took pride in the hysteria that swept the state during the annual high school basketball tournament.

When other states adopted multiple classes to give smaller schools a chance to claim a title, Indiana stuck with its single-class tournament.

The fans liked it that way.

Every Hoosier basketball fan grows up knowing the story of little Milan knocking off Muncie Central for the state championship in 1954. The story inspired the movie “Hoosiers,” which helped to further spread the legend of Indiana basketball.

The legend took a big hit, though, when the Indiana High School Athletic Association abandoned the single-class tourney in 1997.

Schools were placed up against schools of similar size, and the state began to crown four champions. Suddenly, schools that had never made it out of the sectional were competing for state championships.

Fans, though, have never really embraced the multi-class tournament, and many have complained for years that Indiana should go back to the good old days when high school basketball was king, when gyms across the state were filled to the rafters with screaming fans.

The IHSAA, with a push from the Indiana General Assembly, agreed last spring to a series of town hall meetings to talk about whether the state should go back to that single-class tourney that made Indiana basketball famous.

At 11 town meetings across Indiana, the public spoke up: It favored a single-class high school basketball state tournament over the current four-class version. Indiana High School Athletic Association Commissioner Bobby Cox said more than two-thirds of the 514 votes cast (68.1 percent) were for the former single-class tourney.

That’s likely why state Sen. Jean Leising, R-Oldenburg, again introduced a bill early in this legislative session that would place a non-binding, statewide public question on the 2014 general election ballot, asking whether Hoosiers want a single-class or multiple-class postseason system for the annual IHSAA girls and boys basketball tournaments.

The fact is, of course, Indiana will never recapture the good old days. Life has changed, and folks now have many other things competing for their attention.

The 1950s and ’60s — when everyone turned out for the high school basketball game on Friday night — are gone forever. It’s time Leising and like-minded others embrace multi-class basketball and allow the rest of us to move on.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll