Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 11, 2013

Day: Sports as I see it

Most of us have times when we want to vent our anger about things that happen for no good reason whatsoever and there are some who just don’t give a darn about what changes we have each day. Take me for example. There are things going on every year in sports where we are the ones who buy the tickets, yet we have no say about what’s happening. For years, the Pacers were a great team and the state of Indiana was proud of them. But then we got some hot heads on the team who just don’t know how to be good and loyal to the city and state. Then, as the team started going sour, one of the best players we ever had, Reggie Miller, retires and since then it has been sour as vinegar tart and attendance went down fast. I really don’t care to pay the money to watch them. I don’t turn my television to watch them either.

Then, look at the Colts. I am and always will be a Colt’s fan — as long as they are in Indiana. But how can anyone with any sense at all get rid of Peyton Manning? Here is one of the smartest football minds of all time and he knows how to motivate those around him. He is well liked and widely respected throughout the football world and we don’t have enough sense to keep him and let the new guy learn a little more about how the game should be played. If it wasn’t for the good things that the owner does in regard to Indy, I probably would stop watching them, too. But once a Colts fan, always a Colts fan. And what about the Chicago Cubs? I have been a fan for most of my life as my father was a Cubs rooter regardless if they won or not. “Wait until next year!” he would declare and when the new season started, there was Dad sitting there watching the team he never gave up on. So you can say the Cubs are part of our family even when they don’t win.

Now we come to the worst thing that ever happened to the state of Indiana. Going to class sports took Indiana sports down to its knees. We divided into classes according to the size of the school and ever since then  attendance has gone down. When you can go into a gym and sit anywhere you want, that shows that the athletic programs throughout the state have been hurt in the pocketbook. The players are led to believe that they can’t defeat the big schools and that is wrong because anyone can beat anyone at any time on the right night. Will we ever go back to the old way of doing the old state tourney or will we continue to deplete the source of revenue to take care of our programs? Now, I know that there are schools that are really proud to say they are the best in their class, and rightfully so, as that gives the players and the schools a chance to develop more good players, but only in their class. Think of it as sort of a segregation of schools going all the way to a championship. Indiana is and always was the hotbed for basketball and a lot of great players came up through the ranks to become known as Indiana players who excelled in their sports. So this writer counts the ways that a small group can ruin a program like IHSAA had for years where one team could go all the way and win that cherished title of State Champs.

Then as a final comment, the jumping from college to pro basketball by Cody Zeller and Victor Oladipo really made me sad as I was hoping to see them bring Indiana the championship next year. Oh well, the heart will heal and I still hope for the best for both of them. And there are those waiting to take their place. Those are my thoughts on sports.

Contact Ray “Uncle Ray” Day at uncleray@earthlink.net.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll