Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 18, 2013

May 18, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Commissioner earns respect of inmates

Kyle Stacy sends this Cheer for Howard County Commissioner Paul Wyman:

“I am an inmate at the Howard County jail. I work kitchen detail. Recently, the month of April, we received visits from commissioners of Howard County: Tyler Moore and Paul Wyman.

“The first visit was from Paul Wyman. For someone of such status, the gentleman sure impressed myself and fellow inmates. Mr. Wyman was here for lunch detail at the jail. He worked on the serving line making the meals for the general population, and did several duties throughout the afternoon.

“To be frank, Mr. Wyman wasn’t afraid to get his hands dirty. But what impressed myself and fellow inmate workers the most about Mr. Wyman was that he wasn’t judgmental, accepting us as human. He didn’t only work beside us while he was here. He sat down to eat lunch at our table instead of dining with the staff. This showed to us the man had true class and didn’t pretend to be better than us.

“A few weeks later, Tyler Moore visited the jail. For reasons unknown, Mr. Moore never stepped foot in the kitchen to view the work or to see job performance, though he did decide to visit the staff lobby to eat with the sheriff.

“Mr. Wyman, you have earned both my respect and vote. I believe you are for the working man.”

Buddy Bag fundraiser collects $1,609

Mary Ingle sends this Cheer:

“We had a Family Zumba Fitness Fundraiser at Northwestern Elementary on April 12. This was to raise money to start the Buddy Bag program for the 2013-14 school year. We collected $1,609.

“I would like to thank all the businesses that donated door prizes. They are McDonald’s, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Posh Saloon, Burger King, C&J Car Wash, Northwestern PTO/Boosters, and Kokomo Sports Center. Also thanks to Culligan for donating 240 bottles of water.

“Thanks to our Zumba instructors, Kristin Goltz, Brittany Purdum and Cheryl Parrott. A huge thank-you to Carrie Perkins, Paula Garner, awesome staff at Northwestern Elementary who donated baked items to sell and who came and helped, Northwestern High School Student Council for organizing games for the kids, Northwestern Elementary School Student Council/Katie Bullman for the tattoos, and the high school girls for organizing face painting. Without all of them, this event could not have happened.

“Lastly, thank you to all who came and supported this event for our kids at Northwestern Elementary. It was greatly appreciated.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll