Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

May 18, 2013

May 18, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Commissioner earns respect of inmates

Kyle Stacy sends this Cheer for Howard County Commissioner Paul Wyman:

“I am an inmate at the Howard County jail. I work kitchen detail. Recently, the month of April, we received visits from commissioners of Howard County: Tyler Moore and Paul Wyman.

“The first visit was from Paul Wyman. For someone of such status, the gentleman sure impressed myself and fellow inmates. Mr. Wyman was here for lunch detail at the jail. He worked on the serving line making the meals for the general population, and did several duties throughout the afternoon.

“To be frank, Mr. Wyman wasn’t afraid to get his hands dirty. But what impressed myself and fellow inmate workers the most about Mr. Wyman was that he wasn’t judgmental, accepting us as human. He didn’t only work beside us while he was here. He sat down to eat lunch at our table instead of dining with the staff. This showed to us the man had true class and didn’t pretend to be better than us.

“A few weeks later, Tyler Moore visited the jail. For reasons unknown, Mr. Moore never stepped foot in the kitchen to view the work or to see job performance, though he did decide to visit the staff lobby to eat with the sheriff.

“Mr. Wyman, you have earned both my respect and vote. I believe you are for the working man.”

Buddy Bag fundraiser collects $1,609

Mary Ingle sends this Cheer:

“We had a Family Zumba Fitness Fundraiser at Northwestern Elementary on April 12. This was to raise money to start the Buddy Bag program for the 2013-14 school year. We collected $1,609.

“I would like to thank all the businesses that donated door prizes. They are McDonald’s, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Posh Saloon, Burger King, C&J Car Wash, Northwestern PTO/Boosters, and Kokomo Sports Center. Also thanks to Culligan for donating 240 bottles of water.

“Thanks to our Zumba instructors, Kristin Goltz, Brittany Purdum and Cheryl Parrott. A huge thank-you to Carrie Perkins, Paula Garner, awesome staff at Northwestern Elementary who donated baked items to sell and who came and helped, Northwestern High School Student Council for organizing games for the kids, Northwestern Elementary School Student Council/Katie Bullman for the tattoos, and the high school girls for organizing face painting. Without all of them, this event could not have happened.

“Lastly, thank you to all who came and supported this event for our kids at Northwestern Elementary. It was greatly appreciated.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Fire Engulfs Tower Block in China Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Ferry Captain Received Medical Treatment Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Transcript Reveals Confusion in Ferry Evacuation Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll