Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

May 18, 2013

May 18, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Commissioner earns respect of inmates

Kyle Stacy sends this Cheer for Howard County Commissioner Paul Wyman:

“I am an inmate at the Howard County jail. I work kitchen detail. Recently, the month of April, we received visits from commissioners of Howard County: Tyler Moore and Paul Wyman.

“The first visit was from Paul Wyman. For someone of such status, the gentleman sure impressed myself and fellow inmates. Mr. Wyman was here for lunch detail at the jail. He worked on the serving line making the meals for the general population, and did several duties throughout the afternoon.

“To be frank, Mr. Wyman wasn’t afraid to get his hands dirty. But what impressed myself and fellow inmate workers the most about Mr. Wyman was that he wasn’t judgmental, accepting us as human. He didn’t only work beside us while he was here. He sat down to eat lunch at our table instead of dining with the staff. This showed to us the man had true class and didn’t pretend to be better than us.

“A few weeks later, Tyler Moore visited the jail. For reasons unknown, Mr. Moore never stepped foot in the kitchen to view the work or to see job performance, though he did decide to visit the staff lobby to eat with the sheriff.

“Mr. Wyman, you have earned both my respect and vote. I believe you are for the working man.”

Buddy Bag fundraiser collects $1,609

Mary Ingle sends this Cheer:

“We had a Family Zumba Fitness Fundraiser at Northwestern Elementary on April 12. This was to raise money to start the Buddy Bag program for the 2013-14 school year. We collected $1,609.

“I would like to thank all the businesses that donated door prizes. They are McDonald’s, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Posh Saloon, Burger King, C&J Car Wash, Northwestern PTO/Boosters, and Kokomo Sports Center. Also thanks to Culligan for donating 240 bottles of water.

“Thanks to our Zumba instructors, Kristin Goltz, Brittany Purdum and Cheryl Parrott. A huge thank-you to Carrie Perkins, Paula Garner, awesome staff at Northwestern Elementary who donated baked items to sell and who came and helped, Northwestern High School Student Council for organizing games for the kids, Northwestern Elementary School Student Council/Katie Bullman for the tattoos, and the high school girls for organizing face painting. Without all of them, this event could not have happened.

“Lastly, thank you to all who came and supported this event for our kids at Northwestern Elementary. It was greatly appreciated.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll