Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 18, 2013

May 18, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Commissioner earns respect of inmates

Kyle Stacy sends this Cheer for Howard County Commissioner Paul Wyman:

“I am an inmate at the Howard County jail. I work kitchen detail. Recently, the month of April, we received visits from commissioners of Howard County: Tyler Moore and Paul Wyman.

“The first visit was from Paul Wyman. For someone of such status, the gentleman sure impressed myself and fellow inmates. Mr. Wyman was here for lunch detail at the jail. He worked on the serving line making the meals for the general population, and did several duties throughout the afternoon.

“To be frank, Mr. Wyman wasn’t afraid to get his hands dirty. But what impressed myself and fellow inmate workers the most about Mr. Wyman was that he wasn’t judgmental, accepting us as human. He didn’t only work beside us while he was here. He sat down to eat lunch at our table instead of dining with the staff. This showed to us the man had true class and didn’t pretend to be better than us.

“A few weeks later, Tyler Moore visited the jail. For reasons unknown, Mr. Moore never stepped foot in the kitchen to view the work or to see job performance, though he did decide to visit the staff lobby to eat with the sheriff.

“Mr. Wyman, you have earned both my respect and vote. I believe you are for the working man.”

Buddy Bag fundraiser collects $1,609

Mary Ingle sends this Cheer:

“We had a Family Zumba Fitness Fundraiser at Northwestern Elementary on April 12. This was to raise money to start the Buddy Bag program for the 2013-14 school year. We collected $1,609.

“I would like to thank all the businesses that donated door prizes. They are McDonald’s, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Posh Saloon, Burger King, C&J Car Wash, Northwestern PTO/Boosters, and Kokomo Sports Center. Also thanks to Culligan for donating 240 bottles of water.

“Thanks to our Zumba instructors, Kristin Goltz, Brittany Purdum and Cheryl Parrott. A huge thank-you to Carrie Perkins, Paula Garner, awesome staff at Northwestern Elementary who donated baked items to sell and who came and helped, Northwestern High School Student Council for organizing games for the kids, Northwestern Elementary School Student Council/Katie Bullman for the tattoos, and the high school girls for organizing face painting. Without all of them, this event could not have happened.

“Lastly, thank you to all who came and supported this event for our kids at Northwestern Elementary. It was greatly appreciated.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll