Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 22, 2013

BRIAN HOWEY: New districts change congressional rhetoric, behavior

Statehouse pushed most minorities into 3 districts in 2011.

U.S. Reps. Jackie Walorski and Marlin Stutzman are con-servatives in neighboring northern Indiana congres-sional districts. They have an ardent tea party base and strong cred with social conservatives.

But their behavior shows a slight variation. If you talk with Walorski for any length of time, the word “bipartisanship” will make its way into the conversation.

What did she learn from her time as a state legislator that works well in Congress? “The need to work together,” Walorski says, “bipartisanship.”

Going into her unsuccessful 2010 challenge to then-U.S. Rep. Joe Donnelly (who won by fewer than 2,500 votes) and the 2012 campaign, Democrats tried to portray Walorski as a tea party partisan firebrand.

Stutzman has taken a stronger public position on abortion-related issues, mining the Dr. Kermit Gosnell story for publicity and writing about his family history with the issue (his young mother nearly had him aborted). Both he and Walorski voted for the recent 20-week abortion ban bill.

Stutzman has taken a lead role in the farm bill debate, successfully seeking a separate vote on food stamp appropriations and the agriculture subsidies, though there is virtually no chance it will pass the Democratic Senate. There is less public talk from Stutzman on reaching out across the aisle.

The difference is the political veneer rather than substantive policy. In the 2014 Cook Partisan Voting Index, Stutzman sits in a plus-13 Republican 3rd Congressional District. His biggest threat would be from a primary challenger, which doesn’t appear likely to happen this coming cycle.

Walorski sits in the plus-6 Republican 2nd Congressional District, according to Cook.

Their election experiences in 2012 are instructive. Stutzman handily defeated Democrat Kevin Boyd 187,872 to 92,363. Walorski won a squeaker, 134,033 to 130,113 over Democrat Brendan Mullen while Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney carried the district with 56 percent. Walorski had a $1.878 million to $1.273 million advantage over Mullen. Stutzman had a $960,000 to $42,000 lead over Boyd.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll